Search Results: "Kurt Vonnegut"


BOOK REVIEW

HOCUS POCUS by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 5, 1990

"Yes, there are occasional flashes of the old Vonnegut magic (a lovely encounter between Eugene and an illegitimate son named after a cocktail, for example), but mostly he is working well below his top form here."
Vonnegut's latest is his most insistently antiwar novel since Slaughterhouse-Five, and is haunted by Vietnam; the title refers to Uncle Sam's Vietnam propaganda outfit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEADEYE DICK by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 26, 1982

"Vonnegut's weakest fiction ever."
Even Vonnegut's weaker myth/cartoon parables of 20th-century American life—Slapstick, Jailbird—have had a certain gravity and a strange shapeliness in their whimsical digressions, their near-childish interplay between silly plots and Big Themes- Here, however, though the Message circles around such weighty matters as Art and Disarmament, there's no majesty in the doodling, no sense of a pattern worth following to the end. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUEBEARD by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1987

"So, though less arresting or Vivid or disturbing than prime Vonnegut (and a disappointment for readers expecting real development of the Abstract Expressionist angle), this is an easy-to-take mixture of comic diversion, low-key satire, and unabashed preaching."
Likable, jaunty, lesser Vonnegut: the chatty autobiography of minor Abstract Expressionist painter Rabo Karabekian (a minor player in Breakfast of Champions)—interspersed with Rabo's present-day doings in his posh, art-treasure-filled manse in East Hampton, Long Island. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PALM SUNDAY by Kurt Vonnegut
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 1981

"KV—wildly sentimental but hard and funny on the surface—and sure to please his fans while offering sporadic items of interest to others."
Is this "collage" of Vonnegut's occasional writings "a very great book by an American genius" (as he declares in a pretty hilarious mock-preface)? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOD BLESS YOU, MR. ROSEWATER by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 5, 1965

"He hasn't made the novel form, at least this one, come to terms with his own prodigious talents."
In the tradition of Joseph Heller, Bruce Jay Friedman, and Ken Kesey, this is another zany exploration of the world of the oversane. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WELCOME TO THE MONKEY HOUSE by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 19, 1968

"There's the shattering 'All the King's Horses,' a ghastly game of human chess, and the nicest kind of sentiment in 'The Kid Nobody Could Handle' and 'Adam,' All in all, a versatile, volatile talent—inventive, catchy, charming."
Welcome, a warm welcome, for this Collection of Short Works, viz. pleasures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TIMEQUAKE by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 22, 1997

"Nobody does it better."
Vonnegut's first "novel" in seven years (and 14th overall) might by an extremely generous extension of the term be labeled an unassuming metafiction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLAPSTICK OR LONESOME NO MORE! by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1976

"But then you'll either accord it a smile or a hi-ho-hum in the bum since reactions to Vonnegut are as immiscible as oil and rosewater."
Plus ca change, well just what? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOTHER NIGHT by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 27, 1966

"It appeared as a Gold Medal Paperback in 1961."
Howard W. Campbell, Jr. writes his memoirs while awaiting trial in Israel for the war crimes he committed during the Second World War as a big time Nazi propagandist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAT'S CRADLE by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 18, 1963

"Spottily effective."
The narrator is researching for his book, The Day the World Ended, when he comes up against his karass, as he later understands it through Bokononism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 9, 2012

"A book that Vonnegut's casual fans and students of his work alike will want to have."
A bookended set of early and late works by the late, great and surely lamented dystopian Vonnegut (A Man Without a Country, 2005, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PLAYER PIANO by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 18, 1952

"And this new performance on the player piano of western civilization is worthy of more thoughtful attention."
A tough, tightly written book of a brave new world to come, which in its projection offers a tantalizing problem as well as an imaginative invention reminiscent of the early Huxley. Dr. Paul Proteus, a super engineer in a super-mechanized society, finds his life lacking in significance although he is on the eve of a spectacular promotion as the manager of the Pittsburgh works. Read full book review >