Search Results: "Kurt Vonnegut"


BOOK REVIEW

LOOK AT THE BIRDIE by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2009

"For ultra-committed fans and Vonnegut scholars only."
Early, unpublished work from the much-lauded and much-loved American writer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 21, 1969

Then comes the fire storm and "It is so short and jumbled and jangled" . . . because there is nothing intelligent to say about a massacre but it is precise jumble and jangle, disconcerting and ultimately devastating. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOCUS POCUS by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 5, 1990

"Yes, there are occasional flashes of the old Vonnegut magic (a lovely encounter between Eugene and an illegitimate son named after a cocktail, for example), but mostly he is working well below his top form here."
Vonnegut's latest is his most insistently antiwar novel since Slaughterhouse-Five, and is haunted by Vietnam; the title refers to Uncle Sam's Vietnam propaganda outfit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEADEYE DICK by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 26, 1982

"Vonnegut's weakest fiction ever."
Even Vonnegut's weaker myth/cartoon parables of 20th-century American life—Slapstick, Jailbird—have had a certain gravity and a strange shapeliness in their whimsical digressions, their near-childish interplay between silly plots and Big Themes- Here, however, though the Message circles around such weighty matters as Art and Disarmament, there's no majesty in the doodling, no sense of a pattern worth following to the end. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUEBEARD by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1987

"So, though less arresting or Vivid or disturbing than prime Vonnegut (and a disappointment for readers expecting real development of the Abstract Expressionist angle), this is an easy-to-take mixture of comic diversion, low-key satire, and unabashed preaching."
Likable, jaunty, lesser Vonnegut: the chatty autobiography of minor Abstract Expressionist painter Rabo Karabekian (a minor player in Breakfast of Champions)—interspersed with Rabo's present-day doings in his posh, art-treasure-filled manse in East Hampton, Long Island. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WAMPETERS, FOMA & GRANFALLOONS by Kurt Vonnegut
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 14, 1974

"So it goes."
"You understand, of course, that everything I say is horseshit" — Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. — so damn disarming how can you not like the fella? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BREAKFAST OF CHAMPIONS by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 14, 1973

"Carpe diem before the day is all over and obviously a great many people will."
The thinking man's pop writer," apocalyptic fancifier, convinced moralist, and cheerful doomsayer has now in his fiftieth year "resolved to shun storytelling" and write about life as it reaches its extinction in this the year of our Lord or maybe the next one and via Kilgore Trout, the "only hero of our age" whom Eliot Rosewater introduced years ago, and also via one Dwayne Hoover, a Pontiac dealer whose wife had earlier eaten Drano and who now runs amok on that great Interstate which reaches from here to the void. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PALM SUNDAY by Kurt Vonnegut
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 1981

"KV—wildly sentimental but hard and funny on the surface—and sure to please his fans while offering sporadic items of interest to others."
Is this "collage" of Vonnegut's occasional writings "a very great book by an American genius" (as he declares in a pretty hilarious mock-preface)? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOTHER NIGHT by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 27, 1966

"It appeared as a Gold Medal Paperback in 1961."
Howard W. Campbell, Jr. writes his memoirs while awaiting trial in Israel for the war crimes he committed during the Second World War as a big time Nazi propagandist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GALAPAGOS by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 4, 1985

"But his dark is real enough."
Once again Vonnegut throws up his hands at the human race, condemning it for its overweening technology, war-making, greed and other perversities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOD BLESS YOU, DR. KEVORKIAN by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 15, 2000

"Like, maybe, the novel."
If, in modern times, melody could disappear from music and recognizable image from art, is it possible that the novel can also, at long last, grow free of its imprisoning burden of "story"? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOD BLESS YOU, MR. ROSEWATER by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 5, 1965

"He hasn't made the novel form, at least this one, come to terms with his own prodigious talents."
In the tradition of Joseph Heller, Bruce Jay Friedman, and Ken Kesey, this is another zany exploration of the world of the oversane. Read full book review >