Search Results: "L.A. Banks"


BOOK REVIEW

THE FORBIDDEN by L.A. Banks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2005

"Wow. Gripping. But smoke Lilith? Not likely. Next: The Damned. "
Fifth in the Afro-American hip-hop Damali Richards Vampire Huntress series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AWAKENING by L.A. Banks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"Strong improvement for Banks, who found herself attacked by Internet fans of Laurel K. Hamilton, Anita Blake, and Buffy's Joss Whedon, vampiricists who make no reflections in mirrors."
Second and shorter trade paperback entry in the Afro Vampire Huntress rock 'n' roll trilogy rip-off of Blade, Buffy, and Lestat, following Minion (2003). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MINION by L.A. Banks
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2003

"A pulsating blood-booster for raw adolescents—nobody over 20 should buy this."
Blade meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in this first of a trilogy about a no-nonsense guerrilla leader of a rock-'n'-roll vampire-killer band. A girl's gotta do what a girl's gotta do to make Rolling Stone. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BITTEN by L.A. Banks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"In fantasy, anything can be saved."
Fourth entry featuring destiny-driven Damali Richards, Vampire Huntress (The Awakening, 2003, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"Teenage rogue trades Spanish Main for the Spanish plains in a solid adventure tale. (Historical fiction. 14 & up)"
While her beloved Jaimy Fletcher recuperates in Burma from his recent madness, irrepressible Jacky Faber leaves the high seas and goes to war once more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIXED by L.A. Kornetsky
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 8, 2013

"Kornetsky continues to flesh out the core relationships, but both Ginny and Tonica are hard to get close to. More personal information could help this series (Collared, 2012, etc.) reach its target audience."
Ad hoc investigators get emotionally tied to a case when their pets are involved. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLLARED by L.A. Kornetsky
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Cloying talk from companion animals obscures the budding human relationship in Kornetsky's bar cozy debut."
A bartender and one of his regulars find themselves out of their league when they agree to do a shot of private-eye work for a customer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOODY JACK by L.A. Meyer
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"A first-rate read. (Fiction. 12+)"
Posing as a lad in the late 1790s, a spunky orphan girl secures a job as a ship's boy in the British Navy, a position that becomes compromised by her evolving maturity and love for a fellow crewmember. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Homo Superiors by L.A. Fields
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2016

"A well-researched reimagining of what was once called 'the crime of the century.'"
Fields' (Countrycide: Stories, 2014, etc.) latest novel offers a sympathetic look at a pair of murderers. Read full book review >