Search Results: "L.A. Banks"


BOOK REVIEW

THE FORBIDDEN by L.A. Banks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2005

"Wow. Gripping. But smoke Lilith? Not likely. Next: The Damned. "
Fifth in the Afro-American hip-hop Damali Richards Vampire Huntress series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MINION by L.A. Banks
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2003

"A pulsating blood-booster for raw adolescents—nobody over 20 should buy this."
Blade meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in this first of a trilogy about a no-nonsense guerrilla leader of a rock-'n'-roll vampire-killer band. A girl's gotta do what a girl's gotta do to make Rolling Stone. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AWAKENING by L.A. Banks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"Strong improvement for Banks, who found herself attacked by Internet fans of Laurel K. Hamilton, Anita Blake, and Buffy's Joss Whedon, vampiricists who make no reflections in mirrors."
Second and shorter trade paperback entry in the Afro Vampire Huntress rock 'n' roll trilogy rip-off of Blade, Buffy, and Lestat, following Minion (2003). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BITTEN by L.A. Banks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"In fantasy, anything can be saved."
Fourth entry featuring destiny-driven Damali Richards, Vampire Huntress (The Awakening, 2003, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOODY JACK by L.A. Meyer
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"A first-rate read. (Fiction. 12+)"
Posing as a lad in the late 1790s, a spunky orphan girl secures a job as a ship's boy in the British Navy, a position that becomes compromised by her evolving maturity and love for a fellow crewmember. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Pit by L.A. Barnes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 4, 2016

"An intoxicating variant of the afterlife through the eyes of auspicious characters."
Hell is split into two factions, with one side searching for redemption while both recruit the Newly Dead for an inevitable war in this debut supernatural thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Homo Superiors by L.A. Fields
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2016

"A well-researched reimagining of what was once called 'the crime of the century.'"
Fields' (Countrycide: Stories, 2014, etc.) latest novel offers a sympathetic look at a pair of murderers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILD ROVER NO MORE by L.A. Meyer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"A solid and sentimental entry in an underrated series. (Historical fiction. 14 & up)"
Plucky piratical orphan Jacky Faber relies on luck and skill to avoid hanging—yet again—in this 12th and, sadly, final book of the stellar Bloody Jack series, published posthumously. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A MURDER WAITING TO HAPPEN by L.A. Taylor
Released: Feb. 10, 1989

The author's computer engineer—UFO expert Joe Jamison (Deadly Objectives, etc.)—has agreed to give a talk at a science-fiction convention at Minneapolis' Wellesford Regal Hotel. Read full book review >