Search Results: "L.A. Campbell"


BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SO L.A. by Bridget Hoida
Released: June 20, 2012

"In this razor-sharp debut, grief and loathing beget a juicy tragicomedy."
One woman juggles the five stages of grief in this novel's cutting portrait of a marriage's slow-motion deterioration. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 28, 1993

"Plagued by name-dropping, humor tending toward the sophomoric, and arbitrary evaluations: middling both as city-guide and as social commentary."
Having turned his acerbic gaze on the Big Apple (New York Days, New York Nights, 1985), Texas (Honkytonk Gelato, 1985), three European capitals (Vanished Empire, 1990), and Israel (Winner Takes All, 1991), Brook, who's British, now focuses on L.A.—in a travelogue marked by the superciliousness that's marred some of his earlier work. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: April 1, 1994

"No source notes. (Biography. 12+)"
An effective rags-to-riches biography of a chief's descendant who became a Democratic senator from Colorado after distinguishing himself as a judo teacher, deputy sheriff, and artisan. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 25, 2009

"Gripping social history and a feast for aficionados of cops-and-robbers stories, both real and imagined."
Midcentury L.A., confidential and otherwise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

L.A. REX by Will Beall
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 21, 2006

"Murder, torture, dismemberment in gratuitous profusion: Beall, still a working cop, is also a talented writer, but this is ugly stuff."
By an L.A. cop about L.A. cops, a debut novel that could use a warning label: Strong Stomach Mandatory. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

L.A. JUSTICE by Christopher Darden
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 8, 2001

"The courtroom scenes are authoritative, of course, and as for the rest, no one can accuse Darden-Lochte of just going through the motions."
With Lochte (The Neon Smile, 1995, etc.) once more serving as copilot, O.J. prosecutor turned so-so novelist Darden (The Trials of Nikki Hill, 1999) does better in his second fictional effort. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

L.A. CANDY by Lauren Conrad
FICTION
Released: June 1, 2009

"Completely unremarkable, with an unresolved ending. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Everyday girls find their lives are everyone else's business when they're picked to star in a Sex and the City-style reality show. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"Vital intellectual fare brimming with fascinating history."
An exceptionally literate, overstuffed chronicle of gay Tinseltown. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

L.A. REQUIEM by Robert Crais
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 1, 1999

"The killer, by design, is a nonentity—one of the few letdowns in a taut, suspenseful case that opens up scars that easygoing Elvis never looked into before."
Crais bids to break out of his successful Elvis Cole formula'streamlined plotting, smiling charm, slick action, happy endings—with Elvis's ambitious seventh case. Read full book review >