Search Results: "L.A. Meyer"


BOOK REVIEW

WILD ROVER NO MORE by L.A. Meyer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"A solid and sentimental entry in an underrated series. (Historical fiction. 14 & up)"
Plucky piratical orphan Jacky Faber relies on luck and skill to avoid hanging—yet again—in this 12th and, sadly, final book of the stellar Bloody Jack series, published posthumously. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"Teenage rogue trades Spanish Main for the Spanish plains in a solid adventure tale. (Historical fiction. 14 & up)"
While her beloved Jaimy Fletcher recuperates in Burma from his recent madness, irrepressible Jacky Faber leaves the high seas and goes to war once more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOODY JACK by L.A. Meyer
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"A first-rate read. (Fiction. 12+)"
Posing as a lad in the late 1790s, a spunky orphan girl secures a job as a ship's boy in the British Navy, a position that becomes compromised by her evolving maturity and love for a fellow crewmember. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Teens who have followed Jacky will be happy for another ride. (Historical fiction. 12 & up)"
The sixth in the adventures of the spirited heroine, who turns 16 during the course of the novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 10, 2013

"This headstrong heroine shows signs of wearing out. (Historical fiction. 14 & up)"
Jacky Faber sails back to Boston and into trouble in the 11th book in this entertaining but increasingly formulaic series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 3, 2011

"This resilient and exuberant heroine deserves a stamp of approval. (Historical fiction. 12 & up)"
Jacky Faber must once again fight and flirt her way across land and sea to reach her beloved Jaimy Fletcher in the ninth book of this stirring historical series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: June 1, 2004

"Breathless readers don't have to know the first installment to thrill to this one, but they will long for the next. (Fiction. YA)"
The sequel to Bloody Jack (2002) is a rousing adventure, short on character development but perfectly delicious in all other ways. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2005

"With the blessing,' the next Jacky adventure will come along soon. (Fiction. YA)"
The third installment—"and the Dear knows"—of Jacky Faber, now back in England and pressed into ship service despite being all girl and all of 15. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FORBIDDEN by L.A. Banks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2005

"Wow. Gripping. But smoke Lilith? Not likely. Next: The Damned. "
Fifth in the Afro-American hip-hop Damali Richards Vampire Huntress series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Homo Superiors by L.A. Fields
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2016

"A well-researched reimagining of what was once called 'the crime of the century.'"
Fields' (Countrycide: Stories, 2014, etc.) latest novel offers a sympathetic look at a pair of murderers. Read full book review >