Search Results: "L.A. Mondello"


BOOK REVIEW

MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 6, 2012

"Terrific escapist entertainment, as good as anything in Janet Evanovich's oeuvre."
Mondello's latest, a pulse-pounding, pitch-perfect addition to the romantic-suspense genre. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"Teenage rogue trades Spanish Main for the Spanish plains in a solid adventure tale. (Historical fiction. 14 & up)"
While her beloved Jaimy Fletcher recuperates in Burma from his recent madness, irrepressible Jacky Faber leaves the high seas and goes to war once more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIXED by L.A. Kornetsky
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 8, 2013

"Kornetsky continues to flesh out the core relationships, but both Ginny and Tonica are hard to get close to. More personal information could help this series (Collared, 2012, etc.) reach its target audience."
Ad hoc investigators get emotionally tied to a case when their pets are involved. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLLARED by L.A. Kornetsky
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Cloying talk from companion animals obscures the budding human relationship in Kornetsky's bar cozy debut."
A bartender and one of his regulars find themselves out of their league when they agree to do a shot of private-eye work for a customer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILD ROVER NO MORE by L.A. Meyer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"A solid and sentimental entry in an underrated series. (Historical fiction. 14 & up)"
Plucky piratical orphan Jacky Faber relies on luck and skill to avoid hanging—yet again—in this 12th and, sadly, final book of the stellar Bloody Jack series, published posthumously. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A MURDER WAITING TO HAPPEN by L.A. Taylor
Released: Feb. 10, 1989

The author's computer engineer—UFO expert Joe Jamison (Deadly Objectives, etc.)—has agreed to give a talk at a science-fiction convention at Minneapolis' Wellesford Regal Hotel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARAWN'S CARNAGE by L.A. Hammer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 19, 2014

"Provides an action-packed turning point in the series and sets the stage for fresh adventures."
Hammer's (Balor's Might, 2015, etc.) third adventure finds the demon-smashing Sons of Odin on the brink of annihilation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Dog Training the American Male by L.A. Knight
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 8, 2014

"A lighthearted work with well-drawn characters and genuine laughs."
In Knight's comic debut novel, a relationship expert turns to dog-training strategies in order to domesticate her incorrigible boyfriend and save her flagging career. Read full book review >