Search Results: "L.A. Weatherly"


BOOK REVIEW

ANGEL FIRE by L.A. Weatherly
FICTION
Released: Jan. 24, 2012

"This lengthy installment in the series has inventive premise and some thrilling moments, but both are largely smothered by adolescent angst. (Paranormal romance. 12 & up)"
An epic fight against evil, predatory angels takes a back seat to romance in the second of this planned trilogy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANGEL BURN by L.A. Weatherly
FANTASY
Released: May 24, 2011

"Perfect for the Twilight crowd. (Paranormal romance. 12 & up)"
A beautiful blond half-angel and the dark, handsome assassin sent to kill her fall in love in this fast-paced thriller romance, the first installment of a series first published in Britain (the sequel, Angel Fire, is due out in December 2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KAT GOT YOUR TONGUE by Lee Weatherly
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 12, 2007

"Although Weatherly admittedly takes allowances with science, she offers readers who enjoy stories about switched lives the opportunity to imagine the possibilities of starting over with a clean slate. (Fiction. 11-14)"
Thirteen-year-old Katherine Tyler knows she's been hit by a car after running out in front of it, but her explanation for the accident—as well as memories of family, friends and preferences—has been wiped away due to amnesia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILD X by Lee Weatherly
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 11, 2002

"Melodrama with teen style. (Fiction. 11-15)"
Thirteen-year-old Jules Cheney's father, Ben, is her devoted chauffeur, cook, and confidante until a fight between him and Jules's workaholic mother forces him to leave without a trace. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 26, 1998

"Margarette Lincoln's The Pirate's Handbook (1995) has only tidbits about a few of these women pirates, but delivers that information in a colorful, pleasing format. (maps, bibliography, index) (Biography. 11-13)"
These tales of women pirates show that the ``gentle sex'' could be dastardly, too. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MISSING ABBY by Lee Weatherly
FICTION
Released: Nov. 9, 2004

"But the British story also focuses on Emma's growth in emotional maturity and should easily appeal to American readers. (Fiction. 12-15)"
Thirteen-year-old Emma and her best friend Abby were fascinated with fantasy adventures, but Emma was tormented for her hobby and called a freak in their school. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOODY JACK by L.A. Meyer
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"A first-rate read. (Fiction. 12+)"
Posing as a lad in the late 1790s, a spunky orphan girl secures a job as a ship's boy in the British Navy, a position that becomes compromised by her evolving maturity and love for a fellow crewmember. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Homo Superiors by L.A. Fields
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2016

"A well-researched reimagining of what was once called 'the crime of the century.'"
Fields' (Countrycide: Stories, 2014, etc.) latest novel offers a sympathetic look at a pair of murderers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FORBIDDEN by L.A. Banks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2005

"Wow. Gripping. But smoke Lilith? Not likely. Next: The Damned. "
Fifth in the Afro-American hip-hop Damali Richards Vampire Huntress series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Pit by L.A. Barnes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 4, 2016

"An intoxicating variant of the afterlife through the eyes of auspicious characters."
Hell is split into two factions, with one side searching for redemption while both recruit the Newly Dead for an inevitable war in this debut supernatural thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >