Search Results: "Laird M. Easton"


BOOK REVIEW

JOURNEY TO THE ABYSS by Laird M. Easton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 15, 2011

"A hefty tome that may prove daunting for some readers, but this is a classic book for the ages to keep and reread."
Take a grand tour through the Belle Époque without leaving your chair. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOYS DON'T KNIT by T.S. Easton
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 24, 2015

"Wacky characters, a farcical plot and a fledgling romance are all part of the fun in this novel that will appeal to fans of Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging.(Fiction. 12-16)"
An unwilling accomplice to petty theft organized by his dim friends, English teen Ben Fletcher is annoyed that he was the one busted when he collided with a crossing guard. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TO BE MONA by Kelly Easton
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Nov. 25, 2008

Sage Priestly can't tell anyone about her mother's dramatically erratic behavior. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEVERHOME by Laird Hunt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 9, 2014

"Hunt keeps the pace brisk and inserts some new feminist twists into the genre of the Civil War odyssey."
A novel that takes us there and back again, "there" being the Civil War and back again, a farm in Indiana. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"An alarm call, but not alarmist. Less fluently written, but no less valuable, than Ellen Ruppel Shell's Cheap: The High Cost of Discount Culture (2009), which it neatly bookends."
You know the economy is in trouble when you can't find anything for a dollar in a dollar store. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CANARIES AND CRIMINALS by Kelly Easton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Staffed with likable, quirky characters and driven by issues both serious and not-so, this will leave young readers hoping for more visits to Aaron's animal-friendly world. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In a winningly oddball sequel to Trouble at Betts Pets (2002), a turtle with a map painted on its back holds the key to a series of mysterious encounters and break-ins at a pet store in a downtrodden neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CONTEST by Bennett Easton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 16, 2015

"An imaginative debut with memorable characters and a pleasant dose of idealism."
In Easton's debut novel, an elderly philanthropist questions the success of her life's work and launches a worldwide contest to help solve the problems plaguing mankind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INDIANA, INDIANA by Laird Hunt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"At first glance, this seems to be the worst possible knockoff of 20th-Century Lit 101, but Hunt manages to infuse enough life into these old modernist bones that by the end they dance like a Halloween skeleton."
A mentally disturbed man's attempts to help his institutionalized wife, as related by Hunt (The Impossibly, 2001) in a Faulknerian voice that succeeds better than one would have reason to expect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PARADISE LOST by Laird Stevens
Released: Oct. 22, 2012

"Intimate, reflective and worthy of a thoughtful read; don't rush this one."
A young man struggles to find meaning in his life as he travels between Europe and Canada, finding new loves and new interests along the way in this nonlinear novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTERSHOCK by Kelly Easton
ADVENTURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2006

"Characterizations become blurred, and readers will flip the pages quickly to get to the good stuff. (Fiction. YA)"
Prince William-like pretty boy Adam survives the grisly car accident that kills both of his parents during the return leg of a cross-country excursion from Rhode Island to Oregon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NO INTERMISSIONS by Carol Easton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 29, 1996

"Easton says, but this is a generally objective and useful summary of de Mille's life and works."
A lively biography of the choreographer who helped recreate the Broadway musical, infused ballet with American verve and humor, and became a leading spokesperson for dance and the arts in general. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEVEN SECOND DELAY by Tom Easton
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 1, 2015

"Cinematically thrilling, passionately political and primed for a sequel. (Science fiction. 12-15)"
Fleeing a dystopian future Europe, an undocumented immigrant thwarts overzealous security forces in a seemingly idyllic nation formerly known as England. Read full book review >