Search Results: "Laird M. Easton"


BOOK REVIEW

JOURNEY TO THE ABYSS by Laird M. Easton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 15, 2011

"A hefty tome that may prove daunting for some readers, but this is a classic book for the ages to keep and reread."
Take a grand tour through the Belle Époque without leaving your chair. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEVERHOME by Laird Hunt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 9, 2014

"Hunt keeps the pace brisk and inserts some new feminist twists into the genre of the Civil War odyssey."
A novel that takes us there and back again, "there" being the Civil War and back again, a farm in Indiana. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"An alarm call, but not alarmist. Less fluently written, but no less valuable, than Ellen Ruppel Shell's Cheap: The High Cost of Discount Culture (2009), which it neatly bookends."
You know the economy is in trouble when you can't find anything for a dollar in a dollar store. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOYS DON'T KNIT by T.S. Easton
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 24, 2015

"Wacky characters, a farcical plot and a fledgling romance are all part of the fun in this novel that will appeal to fans of Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging.(Fiction. 12-16)"
An unwilling accomplice to petty theft organized by his dim friends, English teen Ben Fletcher is annoyed that he was the one busted when he collided with a crossing guard. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TO BE MONA by Kelly Easton
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Nov. 25, 2008

Sage Priestly can't tell anyone about her mother's dramatically erratic behavior. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CANARIES AND CRIMINALS by Kelly Easton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Staffed with likable, quirky characters and driven by issues both serious and not-so, this will leave young readers hoping for more visits to Aaron's animal-friendly world. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In a winningly oddball sequel to Trouble at Betts Pets (2002), a turtle with a map painted on its back holds the key to a series of mysterious encounters and break-ins at a pet store in a downtrodden neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CONTEST by Bennett Easton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 16, 2015

"An imaginative debut with memorable characters and a pleasant dose of idealism."
In Easton's debut novel, an elderly philanthropist questions the success of her life's work and launches a worldwide contest to help solve the problems plaguing mankind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUBVERTING JUSTICE by Don Easton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 28, 2017

"The 11th from Easton (A Delicate Matter, 2016, etc.) is bluntly written but packed with action and juicy details of the volatile relationships among law enforcement professionals."
A maverick Canadian officer shatters the rules to stop a murderous motorcycle club. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTERSHOCK by Kelly Easton
ADVENTURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2006

"Characterizations become blurred, and readers will flip the pages quickly to get to the good stuff. (Fiction. YA)"
Prince William-like pretty boy Adam survives the grisly car accident that kills both of his parents during the return leg of a cross-country excursion from Rhode Island to Oregon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NO INTERMISSIONS by Carol Easton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 29, 1996

"Easton says, but this is a generally objective and useful summary of de Mille's life and works."
A lively biography of the choreographer who helped recreate the Broadway musical, infused ballet with American verve and humor, and became a leading spokesperson for dance and the arts in general. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEVEN SECOND DELAY by Tom Easton
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 1, 2015

"Cinematically thrilling, passionately political and primed for a sequel. (Science fiction. 12-15)"
Fleeing a dystopian future Europe, an undocumented immigrant thwarts overzealous security forces in a seemingly idyllic nation formerly known as England. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INDIANA, INDIANA by Laird Hunt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"At first glance, this seems to be the worst possible knockoff of 20th-Century Lit 101, but Hunt manages to infuse enough life into these old modernist bones that by the end they dance like a Halloween skeleton."
A mentally disturbed man's attempts to help his institutionalized wife, as related by Hunt (The Impossibly, 2001) in a Faulknerian voice that succeeds better than one would have reason to expect. Read full book review >