Search Results: "Laura Bates"


BOOK REVIEW

SHAKESPEARE SAVED MY LIFE by Laura Bates
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2013

"An eye-opening study reiterating the perennial power of books, self-discipline and the Bard of Avon."
The unorthodox bonding of a Shakespeare instructor and a convicted murderer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYDAY SEXISM by Laura Bates
NON-FICTION
Released: April 5, 2016

"A potent reminder of how far feminism has come and how far it has to go."
A British feminist activist gathers together stories from women worldwide about gender-based denigration suffered in both private and public spheres. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LAURA MCNEAL
by Poornima Apte

It was in 2002 when Laura McNeal was writing a magazine article about the evolution of home economics classes, that she walked up a stone staircase to a peculiar cottage called the Practice House in Fallbrook, California. “It had been built during the Depression because parents and teachers feared—incredibly—that high school girls weren’t learning the Home Arts,” McNeal recalls ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL BY MYSELF by Ivan Bates
Released: Feb. 29, 2000

BOOK REVIEW

COLD COMFORT by Quentin Bates
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 10, 2012

"More routine than Gunna's debut (Frozen Assets, 2011), but still required reading for anyone who wants a sense of how calamitous Iceland's meltdown was—and what just might be in store for American police procedurals next."
Iceland's financial crisis claims new casualties in venues considerably more homely than banks and corporate offices. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BIG UMBRELLA by Amy June Bates
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"A subtle, deceptively simple book about inclusion, hospitality, and welcoming the 'other.' (Picture book. 3-6)"
Illustrator Bates applies her signature watercolor, gouache, and pencil style to a quiet story about a smiling umbrella, a tale sparked by a conversation with her seventh-grade daughter, co-author Juniper Bates. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG TRUCK AND LITTLE TRUCK by Jan Carr
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"The characters, situations, and art hark back to an antique picture-book tradition, but children of any generation will understand Little Truck's feelings. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A small pick-up truck suffers separation anxiety in this tale for fans of Little Toot, Katy, and other animated work machines. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEY THERE, OWLFACE by Betty Bates
ANIMALS
Released: June 15, 1991

"Still, an easily read story with appealing b&w illustrations and some solid values. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Brad, who lives with his widowed mother on Gramps's midwestern farm, does some significant maturing during the months he observes a pair of barn owls raise their young. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY OLD PAL, OSCAR by Amy Hest
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2016

"Hest and Bates' previous joint dog project, The Dog Who Belonged to No One (2008), was a more tender and effective narrative. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Alone at the beach, a black-and-white puppy huddles under the pier until it spots a child. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 1, 1991

"A frequently illuminating study that should prove useful to neophyte reporters—but hardly Pulitzer Prize material. (Eight pages of photographs—not seen.)"
In a thought-provoking, if uneven, exposÇ, Bates, former general news editor of The Seattle Times, uses the stories of three Pulitzer candidates to dissect the Pulitzer mystique. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HIDE-AND-SCARE BEAR by Ivan Bates
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 22, 2016

"Though a bit pat, the book addresses an important social skill for the very young. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A rambunctious bear thinks it is fun to scare all the other animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 31, 2015

"Intriguing and enchanting, with the rich allusiveness of poetry."
An atmosphere of magical realism surrounds three interrelated short stories about an aberrant elevator, the legend of Icarus, and a girl who can fly. Read full book review >