Search Results: "Laura L. Seeley"


BOOK REVIEW

THE FOUR-LEGGED GHOSTS by Mary Hoffman
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1993

"Illustrations not seen. (Fiction. 7-11)"
Alex Brodie and his sister long for a pet, but Carrie's asthma keeps them from having one until Alex is finally allowed a white mouse in his room. ``Cedric'' is no ordinary mouse—he summons up his own grandfather and then, as the days pass, the many former animal inhabitants of the Victorian house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: May 15, 1991

"Offbeat, provocative, well crafted. (Picture book. 4-10)"
Old Agatha, proprietor of a lovely little shop that sells her spinning and weaving, harbors an affectionate brood of cats and enjoys offering children explanations about where things come from, describing the likes of silkworms and cotton bolls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Geneva Decision by Seeley James
Released: Feb. 21, 2013

"A fine thriller with intriguing locations, intricate plot twists and a complex heroine."
A fast-paced, globe-trotting debut thriller featuring a former Olympian with something to prove. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE BY THE MORNING STAR by Laura L. Sullivan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 3, 2014

"This lighthearted comedy set against a backdrop of gathering doom may be gutsy; it's definitely odd. (Historical fiction. 12-16)"
Two young women are mistaken for each other in this romantic farce set in Europe in the run-up to World War II. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY RUBY SLIPPERS by Tracy Seeley
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 2011

"'When a place lives in you beyond the limits of the senses, when its many maps are laid on your heart, maybe that's when you really belong to it.' Seeley evocatively captures that place here."
In this smart meditation on place, Seeley (English/Univ. of San Francisco) gives to Kansas the time she never afforded it in her youth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LADIES IN WAITING by Laura L. Sullivan
Released: May 8, 2012

"A mixture that may well intrigue readers. (Historical romance. 12 & up)"
Three girls named Elizabeth suffer pangs of frustrated love in the court of Charles II in 1662 in this story that places equal emphasis on romance and history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUARDIAN OF THE GREEN HILL by Laura L. Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 25, 2011

"Richly atmospheric storytelling in the tradition of Narnia and Nesbit. (Fantasy. 9-14) "
Weeks after her pivotal role in the Midsummer War in Under the Green Hill (2010), contemporary American Meg Morton must decide if she's willing to "do the hard things" and become the Guardian of the Green Hill fairy sanctuary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNDER THE GREEN HILL by Laura L. Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 26, 2010

"Happily, Sullivan also channels vivid Nesbit-style storytelling and characters, and while the discursive asides diminish suspense, they're a refreshing departure from breakneck pacing and breathless narration. (Fantasy. 9-14)"
Like Edward Eager's Half-Magic, this debut contemporary fantasy pays homage to E. Nesbit, but it goes further, mirroring Nesbit's narrative quirks, syntax and even vocabulary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Not at Peace With this Unfolding by Laura L. Aten
Released: Feb. 21, 2013

"An accomplished meditation on character and tragedy, disquietingly drawn from real life."
Inspired by family lore, this first novel traces the unraveling of a 1930s Southern farming family after a fateful fire. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DELUSION by Laura L. Sullivan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 8, 2013

"Quirky, intense, moving—an exasperating gem. (Historical fantasy. 12 & up)"
Their public debut canceled by the London Blitz, beautiful stage illusionists Phil and Fee Albion, sisters, are sent by their anxious parents to sit out World War II in the village of Bittersweet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAMBODIA NOIR by Nick Seeley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 15, 2016

"Generic title aside, this is distinctive work. The plotting is wily and entertaining, the take on Cambodia, trenchant and disturbing."
A drug-, booze-, life-, and love-addled freelance photographer pursues a missing woman through a phantasmic Cambodia in this debut thriller. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LAURA MCNEAL
by Poornima Apte

It was in 2002 when Laura McNeal was writing a magazine article about the evolution of home economics classes, that she walked up a stone staircase to a peculiar cottage called the Practice House in Fallbrook, California. “It had been built during the Depression because parents and teachers feared—incredibly—that high school girls weren’t learning the Home Arts,” McNeal recalls ...


Read the full post >