Search Results: "Laura L. Sullivan"


BOOK REVIEW

LAURA by Larry Watson
Released: June 1, 2000

"A finely wrought, if emotionally cool, tale of enduring passion."
The story of a man's long obsession with a beautiful woman poet, the latest from award-winning novelist Watson (White Crosses, 1997, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAURA by Hilary Norman
Released: Sept. 19, 1994

"Shallow escapism for the romance-starved. (First serial to Good Housekeeping; Literary Guild selection)"
A Cinderella story of a woman educated in the school of hard knocks, by pulp veteran Norman (Spellbound, 1993, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE BY THE MORNING STAR by Laura L. Sullivan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 3, 2014

"This lighthearted comedy set against a backdrop of gathering doom may be gutsy; it's definitely odd. (Historical fiction. 12-16)"
Two young women are mistaken for each other in this romantic farce set in Europe in the run-up to World War II. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DELUSION by Laura L. Sullivan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 8, 2013

"Quirky, intense, moving—an exasperating gem. (Historical fantasy. 12 & up)"
Their public debut canceled by the London Blitz, beautiful stage illusionists Phil and Fee Albion, sisters, are sent by their anxious parents to sit out World War II in the village of Bittersweet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LADIES IN WAITING by Laura L. Sullivan
Released: May 8, 2012

"A mixture that may well intrigue readers. (Historical romance. 12 & up)"
Three girls named Elizabeth suffer pangs of frustrated love in the court of Charles II in 1662 in this story that places equal emphasis on romance and history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUARDIAN OF THE GREEN HILL by Laura L. Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 25, 2011

"Richly atmospheric storytelling in the tradition of Narnia and Nesbit. (Fantasy. 9-14) "
Weeks after her pivotal role in the Midsummer War in Under the Green Hill (2010), contemporary American Meg Morton must decide if she's willing to "do the hard things" and become the Guardian of the Green Hill fairy sanctuary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNDER THE GREEN HILL by Laura L. Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 26, 2010

"Happily, Sullivan also channels vivid Nesbit-style storytelling and characters, and while the discursive asides diminish suspense, they're a refreshing departure from breakneck pacing and breathless narration. (Fantasy. 9-14)"
Like Edward Eager's Half-Magic, this debut contemporary fantasy pays homage to E. Nesbit, but it goes further, mirroring Nesbit's narrative quirks, syntax and even vocabulary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GIRL ABOUT TOWN by Adam Shankman
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 3, 2016

"The contrived plot and one-dimensional, outlandish characters broadly mimic, rather than evoke, the rich 1930s setting. (Historical mystery. 12-15)"
An over-the-top rags-to-riches story set in 1930s Hollywood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURDER &  SULLIVAN by Sara Hoskinson Frommer
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 18, 1997

"Ardent Gilbert and Sullivan followers will enjoy the Ruddigore replay, but puzzle fans will find little to admire here in the dull characters, repetitive details of investigation procedure, endless domestic trivia, and clumsy plotting."
Oliver, Indiana, is now home to widow Joan Spencer and her college student son Andrew (Buried in Quilts, 1997, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FINDING LAURA by Kay Hooper
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 1, 1997

"Despite the adult sex and good surprise ending: a treacly adolescent affair, just a few steps beyond paper dolls and Barbie."
Hooper's latest paranormal romance (After Caroline, 1996, etc.) tackles reincarnation in a modern southern gothic mode, with lots of coupling in the gazebo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Feb. 29, 1996

"A list of museums and newsletters is appended. (Nonfiction. 8+)"
The subtitle tells it all; the first and later readers of the Little House books wrote letters that Wilder answered and saved, along with their drawings, photographs, and poems, right up to the last years of her life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAURA BLUNDY by Julie Myerson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"The labors of love take on new meaning here, but despite the hypnotic quality of the prose, too many shadows fall across the heart of Laura Blundy, concealing more than they reveal."
Starting with a grisly murder scene, Myerson's fourth novel (after Me and the Fat Man, 1999, etc.) probes murky waters in Victorian London, as a woman crippled and in love trades in her surgeon husband for a married laborer. Read full book review >