Search Results: "Laura L. Sullivan"


BOOK REVIEW

LOVE BY THE MORNING STAR by Laura L. Sullivan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 3, 2014

"This lighthearted comedy set against a backdrop of gathering doom may be gutsy; it's definitely odd. (Historical fiction. 12-16)"
Two young women are mistaken for each other in this romantic farce set in Europe in the run-up to World War II. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DELUSION by Laura L. Sullivan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 8, 2013

"Quirky, intense, moving—an exasperating gem. (Historical fantasy. 12 & up)"
Their public debut canceled by the London Blitz, beautiful stage illusionists Phil and Fee Albion, sisters, are sent by their anxious parents to sit out World War II in the village of Bittersweet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LADIES IN WAITING by Laura L. Sullivan
Released: May 8, 2012

"A mixture that may well intrigue readers. (Historical romance. 12 & up)"
Three girls named Elizabeth suffer pangs of frustrated love in the court of Charles II in 1662 in this story that places equal emphasis on romance and history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUARDIAN OF THE GREEN HILL by Laura L. Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 25, 2011

"Richly atmospheric storytelling in the tradition of Narnia and Nesbit. (Fantasy. 9-14) "
Weeks after her pivotal role in the Midsummer War in Under the Green Hill (2010), contemporary American Meg Morton must decide if she's willing to "do the hard things" and become the Guardian of the Green Hill fairy sanctuary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNDER THE GREEN HILL by Laura L. Sullivan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 26, 2010

"Happily, Sullivan also channels vivid Nesbit-style storytelling and characters, and while the discursive asides diminish suspense, they're a refreshing departure from breakneck pacing and breathless narration. (Fantasy. 9-14)"
Like Edward Eager's Half-Magic, this debut contemporary fantasy pays homage to E. Nesbit, but it goes further, mirroring Nesbit's narrative quirks, syntax and even vocabulary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GIRL ABOUT TOWN by Adam Shankman
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 3, 2016

"The contrived plot and one-dimensional, outlandish characters broadly mimic, rather than evoke, the rich 1930s setting. (Historical mystery. 12-15)"
An over-the-top rags-to-riches story set in 1930s Hollywood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELITES OF EDEN by Joey Graceffa
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"A cunningly charted sequel that improves on its predecessor. (Science fiction. 12-16)"
A young member of the elite class in a dystopian future discovers her destiny in this sequel to Children of Eden (2016). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Not at Peace With this Unfolding by Laura L. Aten
Released: Feb. 21, 2013

"An accomplished meditation on character and tragedy, disquietingly drawn from real life."
Inspired by family lore, this first novel traces the unraveling of a 1930s Southern farming family after a fateful fire. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Rice & Rocks by Sandra L. Richards
Released: Aug. 23, 2016

"A beautiful, amusing tribute to family traditions."
In this illustrated children's book, a young boy learns to be proud of his family's Jamaican food traditions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FOUR-LEGGED GHOSTS by Mary Hoffman
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1993

"Illustrations not seen. (Fiction. 7-11)"
Alex Brodie and his sister long for a pet, but Carrie's asthma keeps them from having one until Alex is finally allowed a white mouse in his room. ``Cedric'' is no ordinary mouse—he summons up his own grandfather and then, as the days pass, the many former animal inhabitants of the Victorian house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EIGHTH MENORAH by Lauren L. Wohl
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 4, 2013

"Sam and his Grammy are a simpatico pair, one readers of all ages will be able to relate to. (Picture book. 5-7)"
This evenly paced story explores a common dilemma in Jewish families—that of multiple menorahs—and gives a little boy the opportunity to do some independent problem-solving. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LAURA MCNEAL
by Poornima Apte

It was in 2002 when Laura McNeal was writing a magazine article about the evolution of home economics classes, that she walked up a stone staircase to a peculiar cottage called the Practice House in Fallbrook, California. “It had been built during the Depression because parents and teachers feared—incredibly—that high school girls weren’t learning the Home Arts,” McNeal recalls ...


Read the full post >