Search Results: "Laura Lee Gulledge"


BOOK REVIEW

PAGE BY PAIGE by Laura Lee Gulledge
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 1, 2011

"Teens are sure to relate to this wallflower who blooms—gloriously. (Graphic fiction. 13 & up)"
A sweet coming-of-age graphic novel about an artistic introvert. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILL & WHIT by Laura Lee Gulledge
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 7, 2013

"Quirky, clever and insightful; a must-read for fans of Raina Telgemeier. (Graphic fiction. 12 & up)"
After the untimely death of her parents, an artistic girl living with her aunt must face her fears. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IS THERE REALLY A HUMAN RACE? by Jamie Lee Curtis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2006

"Sound philosophy ingeniously expressed in an amusing and insightful way that both youngsters can understand and we older folk should heed. (Picture book. 5-10)"
Teammates Curtis and Cornell have once again produced a winningly simple yet profound picture book that uses a play on the word "race" to ask, through a variety of child-posed questions, about the significant competition we all face as humans. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 31, 1998

"Cornell's illustrations are a splash of candy colors, as expressive and inviting as the text. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The young narrator is a mood factory: one day silly, the next sad, then bouncing back with a joyful outlook. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TELL ME AGAIN ABOUT THE NIGHT I WAS BORN by Jamie Lee Curtis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 1996

"In those scenes and others, Cornell's quirky watercolors enhance the book's tone and expand on its humor, effectively alternating between highly comic scenes and quieter, more loving ones. (Picture book. 2-8)"
Everyone—including adoptive parents and children longing for validation of their unique experiences—will embrace this pitch- perfect celebration of true family values. ``Tell me again'' is the endearing catchphrase a young girl employs to get her parents to recount the creation of their family: the late-night phone call (``Tell me again how you screamed''), a plane ride (``and how there was no movie, only peanuts''), the trip to the hospital (``you both got very quiet and felt very small''), love at first sight in the nursery (``you couldn't believe something so small could make you smile so big''). ``Tell me again about the first time you held me in your arms and called me your baby sweet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE DO BALLOONS GO? by Jamie Lee Curtis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"Lighter than air. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Movie star Curtis allows her young versifier's imagination a little foot room in this query of what happens to those balloons that get loose. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIS IS ME by Jamie Lee Curtis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"An excellent springboard for school-age kids to discover who they are and where they come from. (Picture book. 5-9)"
In their latest venture, Curtis and Cornell tackle the question of identity and deconstruct it to a level young people can understand. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 15, 2006

"Mostly superficial bathroom reading for weather-trivia buffs."
A breezy, almanac-like entry in the well-worn meteorology-and-history genre. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: July 12, 2012

"Overall, the fanciful result is a storybook app with a far longer shelf life than most. (iPad storybook app. 4-9)"
Based on the traditional book of the same name, this interactive storybook takes balloon travel to all-new heights. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CATCH A FALLING HEIRESS by Laura Lee Guhrke
ROMANCE
Released: Jan. 27, 2015

"A sexy, smart romance with a unique arc that's enhanced by its upper-class old New York social setting."
An impoverished English aristocrat is determined to protect an American heiress from an unscrupulous fortune hunter but, in doing so, compromises her himself, then finds he's falling for her—even though she won't give him the time of day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEART OF PALM by Laura Lee Smith
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 2, 2013

"In the end, Smith overlaps territory John Sayles explored in Sunshine State, but with a more generous sense of our foibles. It's a promising start—and a lot of fun."
Amiable debut novel of life in the nonglitzy part of Florida, the swampy confines of the Georgia borderlands. Read full book review >