Search Results: "Lauren Heimbaugh"


BOOK REVIEW

MARSHALL THE MIRACLE DOG by Cynthia Willenbrock
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"An enjoyable picture book that addresses important issues in a kid-friendly way without being preachy."
Willenbrock's heartwarming debut picture book is the autobiographical story of how she came to share her home with a special shelter dog. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THAT PESKY RAT by Lauren Child
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2002

"Readers may find themselves wondering if they want this delightfully spiky antihero to become just another house pet, but there is an undeniable appeal to his quest, and a twist at the end saves it from the treacle jar. (Picture book. 5-8)"
A winsomely beady-eyed rat yearns for a loving home in this rather odd feel-good offering. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEWARE OF THE STORYBOOK WOLVES by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"Don't miss the Little Wolf in heels, hairy legs, and party dress being dipped by the prince on the dance floor. (Picture book. 4-9)"
Child fractures a few fairy tales, and the wolves get it in the chops once again, in this story of a young boy and his bedtime worries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM NOT SLEEPY AND I WILL NOT GO TO BED by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2001

"An inventive, entertaining bedtime tale. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Charlie, the patient older brother, struggles to get his imaginative, stubborn sister Lola to bed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TROUBLEMAKER by Lauren Castillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 3, 2014

"Engaging and worthwhile. (Picture book. 3-7)"
This late-summer vignette features two kinds of troublemakers: a bored brother and a bold, thieving raccoon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN STRAVINSKY MET NIJINSKY by Lauren  Stringer
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 5, 2013

"Music and dance made entertaining and joyous. (author's note, sources) (Picture book. 5-8)"
A composer and a choreographer collaborate on a 20th-century masterpiece and cause a riot. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MELVIN AND THE BOY by Lauren Castillo
ANIMALS
Released: July 5, 2011

"Emotionally true and therefore highly satisfying. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A boy wants a pet, but his parents turn down his requests until he asks to bring a turtle home from a pond in the park. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HANS CHRISTIAN ANDERSEN’S THUMBELINA by Lauren Mills
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 6, 2005

Mills shortens Andersen's tale of a miniature child snatched by one prospective suitor after another, and tweaks it to give the protagonist an independent streak: "Yes, I will go now and find my own happiness!" she exclaims, climbing onto the swallow's back to escape marriage to the boring Mole. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT PLANET ARE YOU FROM, CLARICE BEAN? by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2001

The indomitable heroine of two previous picture books returns to provide readers with her own take on environmentalism: "Nature is something I know lots about. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM TOO ABSOLUTELY SMALL FOR SCHOOL by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2004

"A fine way to banish those First Day jitters. (Picture book. 5-7)"
The dynamic sibling duo of I Will Never Not Ever Eat a Tomato (2000) is back for another engaging round of give-and-take. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC BOOKS
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Fans of Bruce Ingram's Night on the Tiles (1999), Nina Laden's The Night I Followed the Dog (1994) and the like will welcome this expanded take on the topic. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Here an array of alliterative activities takes an alphabet of animal couples away from the everyday, from "Ants in an art gallery? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I WILL NEVER, NOT EVER, EAT A TOMATO by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"Perhaps not, but even younger readers who find Lola's stance perfectly reasonable will join her in this engagingly playful head game. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Poster child for Picky Eaters of the World, Lola declares that she won't touch carrots, peas, potatoes, fish sticks, or, most especially, tomatoes, until her brother Charlie sets her straight. Read full book review >