Search Results: "Lauren Strasnick"


BOOK REVIEW

HER AND ME AND YOU by Lauren Strasnick
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 5, 2010

"Complex and thought-provoking. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
After her dad's affair with a younger woman, Alex moves with her mom to her dead grandmother's house in small-town Connecticut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

16 WAYS TO BREAK A HEART by Lauren Strasnick
Released: July 25, 2017

"A well-written but melodramatic he-said, she-said epistolary retrospective of an unhealthy relationship. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Talented teen Los Angelenos recall their toxic romance in this angst-y breakup story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THEN YOU WERE GONE by Lauren Strasnick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2013

"This believable portrait of teenage obsession is hampered by a dull protagonist. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A girl becomes obsessed with her former best friend's disappearance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOTHING LIKE YOU by Lauren Strasnick
FICTION
Released: Oct. 20, 2009

"The fast-paced story will appeal to fans of Meg Cabot and Sarah Dessen. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Sex, alcohol and grief mix with gentle humor to drive Strasnick's first novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAUREN IPSUM by Carlos Bueno
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2015

"Positive, smart, empowering philosophies and thinking skills couched in a wacky adventure. (Fantasy/philosophy. 8-14)"
A lost girl travels through a fantastical Alice in Wonderland-esque world filled with The Phantom Tollbooth-like computer-programming metaphors.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAUREN MCGILL’S PICKLE MUSEUM by Jerdine Nolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2003

"Kids will relish this dilly of a story without a sour note anywhere. (Picture book. 5-8)"
"Lauren McGill was absolutely wild about pickles." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAUREN YANOFSKY HATES THE HOLOCAUST by Leanne Lieberman
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 1, 2013

"A thought-provoking exploration of a teen's evolving ideals. (Fiction. 13 & up)"
A Jewish teen who has decided to become "un-Jewish" experiences a soul-searching junior year. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NANA IN THE CITY by Lauren Castillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"A sweet story for country-mouse readers. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A child learns to appreciate Nana's urban environs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUT EXCUSE ME THAT IS MY BOOK by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2006

"Adding a melancholy but realistic touch to a familiar interchange, there is no sign of a librarian (or other adult) among the shelves of generic books in this natural follow-up to Marc Brown's D.W.'s Library Card (2001) and similar exploratory visits. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Charlie and his relentlessly verbal little sister Lola, now licensed TV characters, take a trip to the library in this script-based episode, illustrated with stills from the show done in Child's distinctive photo-and-cartoon collage style. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THAT PESKY RAT by Lauren Child
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2002

"Readers may find themselves wondering if they want this delightfully spiky antihero to become just another house pet, but there is an undeniable appeal to his quest, and a twist at the end saves it from the treacle jar. (Picture book. 5-8)"
A winsomely beady-eyed rat yearns for a loving home in this rather odd feel-good offering. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM NOT SLEEPY AND I WILL NOT GO TO BED by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2001

"An inventive, entertaining bedtime tale. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Charlie, the patient older brother, struggles to get his imaginative, stubborn sister Lola to bed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEWARE OF THE STORYBOOK WOLVES by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"Don't miss the Little Wolf in heels, hairy legs, and party dress being dipped by the prince on the dance floor. (Picture book. 4-9)"
Child fractures a few fairy tales, and the wolves get it in the chops once again, in this story of a young boy and his bedtime worries. Read full book review >