Search Results: "Lauren Strasnick"


BOOK REVIEW

THEN YOU WERE GONE by Lauren Strasnick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2013

"This believable portrait of teenage obsession is hampered by a dull protagonist. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A girl becomes obsessed with her former best friend's disappearance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HER AND ME AND YOU by Lauren Strasnick
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 5, 2010

"Complex and thought-provoking. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
After her dad's affair with a younger woman, Alex moves with her mom to her dead grandmother's house in small-town Connecticut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOTHING LIKE YOU by Lauren Strasnick
FICTION
Released: Oct. 20, 2009

"The fast-paced story will appeal to fans of Meg Cabot and Sarah Dessen. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Sex, alcohol and grief mix with gentle humor to drive Strasnick's first novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

16 WAYS TO BREAK A HEART by Lauren Strasnick
Released: July 25, 2017

"A well-written but melodramatic he-said, she-said epistolary retrospective of an unhealthy relationship. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Talented teen Los Angelenos recall their toxic romance in this angst-y breakup story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THAT PESKY RAT by Lauren Child
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2002

"Readers may find themselves wondering if they want this delightfully spiky antihero to become just another house pet, but there is an undeniable appeal to his quest, and a twist at the end saves it from the treacle jar. (Picture book. 5-8)"
A winsomely beady-eyed rat yearns for a loving home in this rather odd feel-good offering. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEWARE OF THE STORYBOOK WOLVES by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"Don't miss the Little Wolf in heels, hairy legs, and party dress being dipped by the prince on the dance floor. (Picture book. 4-9)"
Child fractures a few fairy tales, and the wolves get it in the chops once again, in this story of a young boy and his bedtime worries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM NOT SLEEPY AND I WILL NOT GO TO BED by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2001

"An inventive, entertaining bedtime tale. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Charlie, the patient older brother, struggles to get his imaginative, stubborn sister Lola to bed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NEW SMALL PERSON by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2015

"How nice to see a familiar story made new with a family of color and a little brother as hero. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A familiar theme—a big brother feels displaced by a new baby—seems fresh in Child's latest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLIGHTLY INVISIBLE by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 10, 2011

"Adults will recognize a spot-on portrayal of children's imagination games, while kids will recognize the underwater, outer-space and mountainous territories that their homes become every day through play. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Newcomers and devoted fans alike will cheer for clever, likable siblings Charlie and Lola in their newest outing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WINTER IS THE WARMEST SEASON by Lauren  Stringer
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"Prolific illustrator Stringer's first try at text is slight and unexceptional, but the pictures, many on double-page spreads, in gorgeous glowing acrylics on watercolor paper, capture the warmth and vibrancy of her unique premise. (Picture book. 3-8)"
A child rhapsodizes over winter's warmth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TATTERHOOD AND THE HOBGOBLINS by Lauren Mills
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1993

"An attractive presentation of an entertaining, little-known tale that could be a folkloric precursor of Pippi Longstocking. (Folklore/Picture book. 5-10)"
Not the English ``Tattercoats'' (a Cinderella variant) but a long tale, from Asbjornsen and Moe, about twin sisters—pretty Isabella and feisty, independent Tatterhood—born after the queen eats not only the flower she's told will bring her a baby, but also the weed growing beside it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YELLOW TIME by Lauren Stringer
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"Lovely, indeed. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Autumnal bliss is at the heart of this poetic celebration of yellow foliage. Read full book review >