Search Results: "Lawrence Anthony"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"Energetic firsthand reportage from the heart of the African wild."
South African conservationist and Earth Organization founder Anthony spins the uplifting story of his wildlife reserve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 3, 2012

"A riveting account by a compassionate, dedicated man."
The story of a leading conservationist's efforts to save a dangerously threatened animal,\ and of his role as a mediator in a failed attempt to end armed conflict in Uganda. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 12, 2007

"A wartime story with a joyful ending."
Terrific tale about how Iraqis, a South African conservationist and American soldiers saved the animals of the Baghdad Zoo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 24, 2017

"Save the elephants! (postscript, captioned photographs, glossary) (Memoir. 10-16)"
"In 1999, I was asked to accept a herd of troubled wild elephants on my game reserve, Thula Thula. I had no idea how challenging it would be or how much my life would be enriched." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN THE HALF LIGHT by Anthony Lawrence
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2001

"The initially engaging story loses momentum two thirds through, but this is still a debut of great promise."
Australian poet Lawrence perceptively details a young schizophrenic's struggle to live and love normally. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LAWRENCE MILLMAN
by Gregory McNamee

In the winter of 1941, nine members of an Inuit community in a remote corner of the Hudson Bay died at the hands of three neighbors, one of whom proclaimed himself to be Jesus Christ returning at the end of days. The victims were presumed to be safe harbors for the devil, and one of the killers, a teenage girl ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

THIS WEEK IN AUDIOBOOKS
by Bobbi Dumas

Hope you all had a nice 4th of July!

It’s been a great week for me with audiobooks. I had the chance to listen to the upcoming Joshilyn Jackson title, The Almost Sisters (releases July 11; Kirkus gave it a star review).

I simply love Jackson, one of my favorite authors.  A beautiful, witty writer, she tells unique, lively ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

STAR SCOUTS by Mike Lawrence
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 21, 2017

"All scouts—and readers—must now raise their right hands and solemnly swear to read this. (Graphic science fiction. 7-12)"
An alien abduction goes a long way toward curing Avani's new-kid blues. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SACRED CITY by Damian Lawrence
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 29, 2011

"Blending grand-scale storytelling with deeply provocative social and spiritual themes, Lawrence could very well be the next coming of Harry Turtledove."
The second installment of Lawrence's Guardians series—following his debut novel The Guardians of Time (2011)—is equal parts epic science-fiction, time-travel adventure, historical-fiction drama and apocalyptic thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE GORILLA by Anthony Browne
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"The former British Children's Laureate has a simple point—'All primates. / All one family. / All my family… / and yours!'—and he makes it in a visually compelling way. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Browne really cranks up the color intensity in this gorgeous, large-trim portrait gallery of primates. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY BROTHER by Anthony Browne
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 6, 2007

"Perhaps a book about sisters is not far behind. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Having described a father and a mother in previous outings, Browne now moves on to the pleasures of having a male sibling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT IF...? by Anthony Browne
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"An amazingly astute, artful unfurling of tightly coiled childhood social anxieties. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Joe worries the whole way to his first party, clutching the gift to his chest, furrowing his brow, and asking his mother, again and again, "What if…?"  Read full book review >