Search Results: "Lee R. Berger"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2012

"A fascinating account of an Indiana Jones-style fossil hunter and how his discoveries have changed the way we see human evolution. ('A New View of Evolution,' further reading, glossary/index, author's note) (Nonfiction. 10 & up)"
When 9-year-old Matthew Berger found a fossil, he "opened a door two million years back in time." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SKULL IN THE ROCK by Lee R. Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 23, 2013

"A terrific piece of paleoanthropology, with a smart blend of scientific sobriety and narrative verve. (Nonfiction enhanced e-book. 10 & up)"
Advances in paleoanthropology are given a bracing, clearsighted overview in this enhanced e-book from Berger and Aronson, based on the 2012 print book of the same name. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 2, 1993

"A solid if unexceptional chronicle of adventure and discovery in what remains of the American wilderness. (Eleven maps)"
Although the Continental Divide Trail is still more of a bureaucratic vision than a reality, newlyweds Berger (an editor) and Smith (a historian) decided to tackle it as it is—with this colorful but disappointing record of their experience as the result. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Cajun Justice by Lee R. Hadley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"A relatively restrained, old-style yarn of supernatural retribution and redemption that may leave gore-hounds feeling a bit disappointed."
A batch of shirts bearing deadly serpents, obtained unethically by a shady businessman, spawns terror at a retailer convention in New Orleans. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 15, 1992

"Controversial—and, at times, illogical, emotional, and self- serving; but, still, an undeniably poignant, important, and informative salvo in a real war on drugs."
Courson, an offensive lineman for the Pittsburgh Steelers and Tampa Bay Buccaneers from 1977-85, continues his ``crusade...to tell the truth'' about the use of steroids in the NFL and the crucial need for more research into their long-term effects. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIDGET FIDGET AND THE MOST PERFECT PET!  by Joe Berger
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"Familiar waters, sure, but it's the rare child who doesn't dream of having his or her very own Thunderhooves. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Bridget Fidget desperately wants a pet unicorn to name Thunderhooves, so when a giant box arrives downstairs marked "Fragile" (or, as she imagines, "Here's your new pet!") she dives right in, spreading Styrofoam pellets ("snow") all over the house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT! GOOD NIGHT! by Carin Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"Young readers will giggle over the bedtime jollity, while parents may recognize the familiar bedtime battle and see themselves in the mother rabbit whose love and patience prevail.(Picture book. 3-7)"
Three mischievous bunnies finally fall asleep in this playful look at the bedtime routine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 16, 1991

"An uncommonly useful book that should be a godsend to any family have a member afflicted with manic depression."
A harrowing account of manic depression, plus information about the disease, by Diane Berger, mother of a manic-depressive son, and Lisa Berger, her sister and a free-lance writer (Parade, Vogue, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BENTO'S SKETCHBOOK by John Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"Berger's readers will see with fresh eyes."
A deceptively brief volume offers profound meditations on art, the creative process and so much more. Read full book review >