Search Results: "Lena Landström"


BOOK REVIEW

LENA by Jacqueline Woodson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1999

"This does bring a sense of closure to its open-ended predecessor, but the severely unbalanced structure and a resolution that can best be described as shrink-wrapped, make it a weak sequel. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Woodson's quietly harrowing I Hadn't Meant to Tell You This (1994) left teenager Lena Bright and her gifted sister Dion on the run from their abusive father; here, after hitching their way from Ohio to Kentucky, they find the safety they seek, back where their flight began. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A HIPPO’S TALE by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: April 6, 2007

"Landström's illustrations are as always gently evocative with piquant touches of humor. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Mrs. Hippopotamus is the Greta Garbo of hippos. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE IS PIM? by Lena Landström
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2015

"Pom is the elemental Everychild—and just darlin'. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Dog takes Pom's Pim in this return of one of the most heart-gladdening creatures on Earth (Pom and Pim, 2014).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POM AND PIM by Lena Landström
Kirkus Star
by Lena Landström, illustrated by Olof Landström, translated by Julia Marshall
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"A perfect primer for the existential philosophy required for a small one to make it through the day. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Pom and his potato-shaped rag doll, Pim, make their way through the ups and downs of everyday life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VACLAV & LENA by Haley Tanner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 31, 2011

"A terrific, enlightened debut that captures the fervor that hides in naïveté."
A pair of young Russian immigrants, each desperately infatuated with the other, are parted and reunited in Brighton Beach. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOO AND BAA HAVE COMPANY by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 2006

"Bright watercolor illustrations and a sprightly translation, not to mention the full-sized format, make this perfect for story times. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Thank goodness: Swedish sheep Boo and Baa make their return to America after a six-year absence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOUR HENS AND A ROOSTER by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 8, 2005

"Fans of Doreen Cronin's Click, Clack, Moo (2000), illustrated by Betsy Lewin, and other Animal Farm offshoots, will be particularly amused. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The hens revolt when Rooster gets too big for his britches in this droll barnyard spoof. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILL GOES TO THE BEACH by Lena Landström
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 1995

"Low-key, but a charmer. (Picture book. 4-6)"
In this very brief, tongue-in-cheek Swedish import, young Will (Will Gets a Haircut, 1993) has a fine day at the beach with his motherespecially after rain drives away any witnesses and he learns how to float and paddle about. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILL'S NEW CAP by Olof Landstrom
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 1992

"The simple, well-paced drama here is perfectly childlike; the cartoon-style illustrations have the vibrant energy and humor of Quentin Blake, with a refreshing Scandinavian flavor. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The colorful cap is Will's pride and the delight of the admiring friends he willingly lets try it on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LENA FINKLE'S MAGIC BARREL by Anya Ulinich
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: July 29, 2014

"An entertaining intellect wrapped in ill-fitting clothes."
Ulinich (Petropolis, 2007) follows her debut with a graphic novel chronicling a young immigrant writer's adventures through family, friendship and sex. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TWELVE HATS FOR LENA by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

In a broad, simple, Anne Rockwell-like manner, Katz (Excuse Me!, not reviewed, etc.) poses a child peering out delightedly from beneath 12 big hats, each decorated with an array of iconic items. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LEGENDARY MISS LENA HORNE by Carole Boston Weatherford
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 24, 2017

"A memorable life dedicated to music and civil rights, presented with commensurate style. (bibliography, further reading, listening, and viewing) (Picture book/biography. 7-10)"
Twentieth-century racism tried hard to deny this great performer her voice—and failed. Read full book review >