Search Results: "Lena Landström"


BOOK REVIEW

A HIPPO’S TALE by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: April 6, 2007

"Landström's illustrations are as always gently evocative with piquant touches of humor. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Mrs. Hippopotamus is the Greta Garbo of hippos. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE IS PIM? by Lena Landström
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2015

"Pom is the elemental Everychild—and just darlin'. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Dog takes Pom's Pim in this return of one of the most heart-gladdening creatures on Earth (Pom and Pim, 2014).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POM AND PIM by Lena Landström
Kirkus Star
by Lena Landström, illustrated by Olof Landström, translated by Julia Marshall
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"A perfect primer for the existential philosophy required for a small one to make it through the day. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Pom and his potato-shaped rag doll, Pim, make their way through the ups and downs of everyday life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOUR HENS AND A ROOSTER by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 8, 2005

"Fans of Doreen Cronin's Click, Clack, Moo (2000), illustrated by Betsy Lewin, and other Animal Farm offshoots, will be particularly amused. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The hens revolt when Rooster gets too big for his britches in this droll barnyard spoof. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOO AND BAA HAVE COMPANY by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 2006

"Bright watercolor illustrations and a sprightly translation, not to mention the full-sized format, make this perfect for story times. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Thank goodness: Swedish sheep Boo and Baa make their return to America after a six-year absence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILL GOES TO THE BEACH by Lena Landström
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 1995

"Low-key, but a charmer. (Picture book. 4-6)"
In this very brief, tongue-in-cheek Swedish import, young Will (Will Gets a Haircut, 1993) has a fine day at the beach with his motherespecially after rain drives away any witnesses and he learns how to float and paddle about. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILL'S NEW CAP by Olof Landstrom
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 1992

"The simple, well-paced drama here is perfectly childlike; the cartoon-style illustrations have the vibrant energy and humor of Quentin Blake, with a refreshing Scandinavian flavor. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The colorful cap is Will's pride and the delight of the admiring friends he willingly lets try it on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 1, 1996

"A welcome gift to Western readers."
The first (partial) translation into English of an indigenous chivalric romance set in the Nile Valley and originally composed sometime during the 13th through 16th centuries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STINA'S VISIT by Lena Anderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 24, 1991

"Warm but uneventful; still, Anderson's portrayal of affection and her eye for detail and the many nuances of her scenes rival Shirley Hughes's in their skill, charm, and humor. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The little girl introduced in Stina (1989) again visits her grandfather at his Swedish seaside cottage; this time the story is centered on jollying elderly friend ``Stretchit'' out of his birthday doldrums and listening to his seafaring tall tales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1992

"Words that caption objects are well placed and include a good selection to both confirm and expand vocabulary. (Picture book. 2-7)"
A satisfactory compendium, with double spreads on topics moving outward from the child's body, family, feelings, and home to the classroom and subjects like shapes, colors, and numbers as well as the neighborhood, holidays, and animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ANTIC ALPHABET by Lena Lencek
ABC BOOKS
Released: May 1, 1994

"A witty and engaging children's book debut. (Picture book. 5-8)"
A native of Trieste, Italy, creates expressive figures from the 26 letters, adding human personas and appendages and assigning each an action directed at the next (``E enchants F. F follows G.''). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TICK-TOCK by Lena Anderson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 10, 1998

"The book will sing to those who love Jill Murphy's A Quiet Night In (1994), and translates beautifully to uses in foster-care and group-home situations. (Picture book. 1-4)"
This bedtime story, populated with a variety of toy-like animals, will strike a chord with readers accustomed to wearing out their caregivers. Read full book review >