Search Results: "Leslie Mathews"


BOOK REVIEW

I WISH I HAD... by Giovanna Zoboli
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Images to return to again and again, with the text a jumping-off point to a sweet philosophy. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The unseen and unnamed narrator of this Italian import wishes for many lively and thoughtful things. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM A BEAR by Jean-François Dumont
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 8, 2015

"A naked appeal to sentiment—but also to sympathy. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A sensitive portrait of a lonely, homeless…bear, sort of. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIENNA BLOOD by Adrian Mathews
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"The mood-showering prose slows the pace here and there, but that's little to pay for solid entertainment."
Arriving on raves from Britain, Mathews's first novel is touted as a marriage of Blade Runner and The Third Man. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 1998

"Fact-filled and engaging, a trenchant study, indispensable to the policy-makers for America's top 230 high schools (as ranked in the book's useful index). (Author tour)"
A probing examination of the strengths and weaknesses—but mostly the weaknesses—of our nation's top-rated and best-funded public high schools. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LINDEN TREE by Ellie Mathews
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 24, 2007

"For fans of Sarah, Plain and Tall. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Nine-year-old Katy Sue Hanson, an Iowa farm girl in 1948, is accustomed to the cycles of life and death, but nothing prepares her close-knit family for her mother's sudden death from meningitis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH IN THE OFF-SEASON by Francine Mathews
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 26, 1994

"Less purely evocative and more sturdily constructed than other recent regional mysteries—Philip Craig's Off Season (p. 590) and John Smolen's Angel's Head (p. 593)—this is a well-crafted, workmanlike debut."
Labor Day weekend on Nantucket Island can be murder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HUMAN COUNTRY by Harry Mathews
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 25, 2002

"Hairpin turns on Piranesi paragraphs that often climb nowhere and twist the brain into taffy. Wonder full."
A sheaf of Mathews's artifacts from the past twenty years or so, perhaps only for connoisseurs of the gold-packed sentence, including early stories from Country Cooking (1980), midcareer stories from The American Experience (1984), plus ten fresh new pieces (Singular Pleasures, 1993). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOO BAD TO DIE by Francine Mathews
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 3, 2015

"Mathews writes well, keeps the pace brisk and has great fun re-creating historical personages."
If the title sounds reminiscent of a James Bond novel, it's no coincidence, for Mathews freely makes use of Ian Fleming's World War II experience as an intelligence officer in Cairo and Tehran to create adventures in espionage and counterespionage. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WORLD OF TOMORROW by Brendan Mathews
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"It's not Doctorow's Ragtime, but there's a similar feel in this impressive, wide-ranging debut."
Mathews' colorful debut novel examines the legacy of Irish political violence for a family in both the old country and New York during one busy week in 1939. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE JOURNALIST by Harry Mathews
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"Mathews chronicles his diarist's dilemma with humor and gentle irony; his slide into the abyss occasions more bemusement than terror."
There are no safe places for the disintegrating self, not even the private journal; that is what the unnamed ``journalist'' discovers in this teasing, lightly involving novel from Mathews (Singular Pleasures, 1993, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CUTOUT by Francine Mathews
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 20, 2001

"Mathews, a former CIA intelligence analyst and veteran mystery author (Death in a Cold Hard Light, 1998, etc.), writes well, and the story benefits from her savvy about spycraft. Her strong characters, though, ultimately get swamped by all the spook-y details."
A near-miss thriller about spies coming in from the cold—le Carré American-style. Read full book review >