Search Results: "Leslie Swartz"


BOOK REVIEW

LESLIE by Omar Tyree
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 6, 2002

"Implausibly melodramatic portrait of a killer whose actions evoke horror rather than sympathy."
Tyree (Just Say No!, 2001, etc.), whose grim tales of life in the 'hood usually offer moments of grace or wisdom, tells a horrifying and essentially nasty story of a woman who murders those who get in her way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PLAN Z BY LESLIE KOVE by Betsy Robinson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 15, 2001

"A standard tale that features a particularly irritating adolescent narrator. The Curse of Holden Caulfield strikes again."
A trip back in time to the 1970s and all, supposedly, that was groovy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOLIDAYS & FESTIVALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"No library should be without this well-designed, beautiful, and informative resource. (Nonfiction. 5 )"
The authors—Simonds, who has studied and written about Chinese culture and cooking for 30 years, and Swartz, the vice-president of The Children's Museum, Boston—have collaborated to present a rich and eclectic collection of Chinese traditions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROOM SERVICE by Richard Swartz
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"These 16 essays occupy that rare place where journalism becomes literature and where impressionistic portraits of individuals artfully convey the spirit of their time and place."
Swartz's masterful travel writing/journalism—in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Ryszard Kapuscinski—brings us closer to a true feel for the essence of Eastern Europe, as well as human frailty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FINDING PERFECT by Elly Swartz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 18, 2016

"While there are several good books about OCD for teen readers, few are available for middle graders, and this is a welcome addition to the fold. (Fiction. 8-12)"
If your parents are separating, your mother leaves home for a job elsewhere, and your best friend is about to move away, how can you gain control of your life? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOY WHO COULD CHANGE THE WORLD by Aaron Swartz
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"An important record of forward-looking thought cut short."
Collected writings of Aaron Swartz (1986-2013), prescient programmer and technology critic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHO WINS? by Clay Swartz
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 12, 2016

"History with a hilarious spin and a cinch to provoke vigorous debates aplenty. (Informational novelty. 10-13)"
From Pelé to "Doc Soc" Socrates, Mother Teresa to Pythagoras, movers and shakers from the past face off in this split-page, mix-and-match fight card. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOO! by Leslie Patricelli
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2015

"A warm and cuddly celebration of the creepiest holiday. (Board book. 1-3)"
Patricelli's tiny tot celebrates Halloween. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG PIGS by Leslie Helakoski
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Gleeful—and opaque. (Picture book. 3-6)"
These three little porkers behave like...well, you know, until their mama teaches them a surprising lesson. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF ROCKS COULD SING by Leslie McGuirk
ABC BOOKS
Released: May 24, 2011

"Begs to be pored over again and again. (Alphabet book. 3-10)"
With sharp eyes, endless patience and vivid imagination, McGuirk seeks and finds rocks in the shapes of alphabet letters and items representing those letters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2010

"More puppies, please. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Petra wakes up every night because she's afraid of the monster under her bed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HIGHER! HIGHER! by Leslie Patricelli
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2009

"Certain to rise higher and higher in popularity. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Patricelli once again proves she is a master of demonstrating for very young children the wonders of a good imagination (The Birthday Box, 2007). Read full book review >