Search Results: "Leslie Swartz"


BOOK REVIEW

HOLIDAYS & FESTIVALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"No library should be without this well-designed, beautiful, and informative resource. (Nonfiction. 5 )"
The authors—Simonds, who has studied and written about Chinese culture and cooking for 30 years, and Swartz, the vice-president of The Children's Museum, Boston—have collaborated to present a rich and eclectic collection of Chinese traditions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FINDING PERFECT by Elly Swartz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 18, 2016

"While there are several good books about OCD for teen readers, few are available for middle graders, and this is a welcome addition to the fold. (Fiction. 8-12)"
If your parents are separating, your mother leaves home for a job elsewhere, and your best friend is about to move away, how can you gain control of your life? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOY WHO COULD CHANGE THE WORLD by Aaron Swartz
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"An important record of forward-looking thought cut short."
Collected writings of Aaron Swartz (1986-2013), prescient programmer and technology critic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS WANNABE by Leslie Lammle
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2014

"Despite the can't-miss lesson, it's nice that storytime is such a big deal, even in the castle, and children will enjoy seeing all the familiar characters gathered here. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A frothy bit of storytelling and soft, squiggly art full of easily recognized folk from other tales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALBERT'S PLAY by Leslie Tryon
ANIMALS
Released: March 31, 1992

"Any school would be fortunate to have the unflappable Albert—and every child should have a chance to meet him. (Picture book. 5-9)"
The second book from this talented author-illustrator is as delightfully fresh and innovative as Albert's Alphabet (1991). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALBERT'S FIELD TRIP by Leslie Tryon
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 30, 1993

"The book makes a fine introduction to apple farms—or to class trips—but best is following the entrancing animal individuals through the colorful, beautifully designed illustrations. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Albert's third is not quite the imaginative extravaganza of his first two (Albert's Alphabet, 1991, ALA Notable, and ...Play, 1992); it's a fairly straightforward trip to an apple farm, with the amiable duck driving the school bus. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROOM SERVICE by Richard Swartz
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"These 16 essays occupy that rare place where journalism becomes literature and where impressionistic portraits of individuals artfully convey the spirit of their time and place."
Swartz's masterful travel writing/journalism—in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Ryszard Kapuscinski—brings us closer to a true feel for the essence of Eastern Europe, as well as human frailty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOP! HOP! by Leslie Patricelli
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2015

"As bright and bold as the holiday it celebrates. (Board book. 1-2)"
An excited little one celebrates Easter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOBBLE, GOBBLE, TUCKER! by Leslie McGuirk
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 9, 2014

"A meandering tale about a special day that Tucker fans will gobble right up. (Board book. 2-4)"
This brief introduction to Thanksgiving stars a winsome white terrier named Tucker (Ho, Ho, Ho Tucker!, 2005, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MOOGEES MOVE HOUSE by Leslie McGuirk
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Not so much bibliotherapy for families on the move as a quick burst of verbal foolery, tailor-made for reading aloud. (Picture book. 4-6)"
A picky family goes house hunting in this brief but intensely silly outing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AT THE SEA FLOOR CAFÉ by Leslie Bulion
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"EWSLUGp2006—even the surprise among the school of krill on the endpapers will make readers smile. (Informational poetry. 8-12)"
From snapping shrimp with bubble-shooting claws to the Osedax worm that digests whalebones on the ocean floor, intriguing and unusual sea creatures are introduced in this collection of 18 engaging poems written in a variety of forms. Read full book review >