Search Results: "Levon Helm"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 20, 1993

"Helm's folksy manner can grate ('Memory lane can be a pretty painful address at times''); overall, though, a readable and evenhanded account that will appeal to Band fans and 60s nostalgists (though Barney Hoskyns's Across the Great Divide, covers much of the same ground)."
Enjoyable history of a seminal late-60's rock group, told by the group's drummer with the help of Davis (co-author, Fleetwood, 1990, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2012

"Think about buying something else. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A little boy named Kit and his dachshund Willy are the narrators of this seriously flawed British import written in the style of a child's illustrated school report about dogs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 27, 2012

"An optimistically levelheaded book about actually dealing with global warming."
A serious attempt to address climate change: "why it matters, what causes [it], and who is responsible." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 31, 2015

"Not just another tale of concentration camp terrors, Helm delivers a gripping story of the women who outlasted them and had the strength to share with the author and us 60 years later."
Just when you thought you knew all about the Holocaust camps, Helm (A Life in Secrets: Vera Atkins and the Missing Agents of WWII, 2006) chronicles the history of this much-ignored site for women.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BREED APART by Mike Helm
NON-FICTION
Released: May 21, 1991

"A sure thing for novices, but there's enough intelligently presented information and inside dope to attract even the most jaded track veteran."
A dandy, in-depth look at the Sport of Kings, the $10- billion-a-year horse-racing business, and the ``weekend recreational gamblers,'' jockeys, trainers, grooms, and officials who work on the ``backside,'' behind the scenes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MESS WITH ME by Nicole Helm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"A classic small-town contemporary romance with extra angst, perfect for fans of Susan Mallery and Jill Shalvis."
Two emotionally scarred people find each other and heal themselves in the Colorado Rockies Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 22, 2006

"Fans of Len Deighton—and, of course, Fleming—will value this as much as will students of intelligence and counterintelligence."
Engaging life of the spymistress reputed to have been the model for Ian Fleming's Miss Moneypenny. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 31, 1999

"For everyone else, the book's closing credits, with lists of stylists, models, equipment, and acknowledgments, provide a refreshing peek into the mechanics behind the photographs. (Picture book. 8-12)"
One-upping the painted illustrations in Graeme Base's Discovery of Dragons (1996), these elaborately casual snapshots capture glimpses of 16 fairies observed in various leafy, far-flung locales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 1999

"A truly comprehensive overview of this hot health topic: sound medical information, practical advice, and the sympathetic support of those in the same boat."
paper 0-89793-271-4 Researcher Skelly and reporter Helm both suffer from fibromyalgia, and both had difficulties securing an accurate diagnosis and effective medical treatment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTER JAMES by Michael  Helm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A novel that seems to aspire to a consciously literary emulation of William Gibson but struggles with upsetting passivity."
Helm (Cities of Refuge, 2010, etc.) creates a claustrophobic atmosphere of surreal unease and technology-fueled horror. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WANT YOU MORE  by Nicole Helm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 28, 2017

"An intimate, rewarding romance with a hot hero whose emotional growth is as sexy as his moves in the bedroom."
She leads with emotion, he runs from it. Two mountain guides wonder if they can repair the friendship that was shattered seven years ago by unrequited love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 4, 2012

"The clear, if somewhat dry, writing style will appeal to readers planning their own Italian excursion."
A collection of short essays on the author's experiences living as an American expat in Italy. Read full book review >