Search Results: "Lia Hills"


BOOK REVIEW

THE BEGINNER'S GUIDE TO LIVING by Lia Hills
FICTION
Released: Oct. 12, 2010

"A well-crafted story from a new voice. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Seventeen-year-old Will is desperate to find meaning in life following the sudden death of his mother. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOLE HILLS by Jeanie Herold
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 20, 2013

"A readable but occasionally awkward set of starter poems."
A heartfelt debut collection of poetry and photography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOLLYWOOD HILLS by Joseph Wambaugh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 16, 2010

"Though everything takes forever to happen, the laughs are authentic, and a couple of endearing heroes emerge. A middling entry in this waggish series."
Wambaugh's Hollywood trilogy (Hollywood Moon, 2009, etc.) sprouts a fourth volume, another offbeat mix of broadly satirical comedy and a cast of cops apparently waiting for a procedural that never kicks in. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK HILLS by Dan Simmons
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2010

"There are rewards here, but Simmons (Drood, 2009, etc.) buries an appealing protagonist and an intriguing story under the crushing weight of a tome."
At Little Big Horn, Custer's ghost enters the body of an 11-year-old American Indian and commingles there for close to 500 pages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHADOW HILLS by Anastasia Hopcus
FANTASY
Released: July 13, 2010

"An adolescent-seeming effort that may well please many adolescents, which is fine. (Paranormal romance. YA)"
This hefty supernatural debut thriller has many elements of commercial success but few of the literary kind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TIGER HILLS by Sarita Mandanna
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 9, 2011

"Beautiful prose and delicate handling prevent this melodrama from becoming maudlin."
Star-crossed lovers in India at the turn of the 20th century, drawn from first-time novelist Mandanna's family history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUSHKIN HILLS by Sergei Dovlatov
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 11, 2014

"A black comedy of eyes-wide-open excess in the vein of Frederick Exley's A Fan's Notes or David Gates' Jernigan. And a fine rumination on being Russian, besides."
Soviet émigré Dovlatov died in New York in 1990, and since then, his reputation in America, bolstered late in life by the New Yorker and by fans, including Kurt Vonnegut, has faded. With luck, that reputation will be restored and enhanced by the first English publication (with a lively, playful translation by his daughter Katherine) of this brief, fabulous, partly autobiographical 1983 novel.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAMP ROLLING HILLS by Stacy Davidowitz
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 10, 2016

"The author's love for camp shines through, and although this novel will likely have a narrow appeal, it's a strong choice for first-time campers and for those who find camp and its rituals delightful. (Fiction. 8-12)"
An anxious boy and a grieving girl on the cusp of adolescence find nascent love at Camp Rolling Hills, a summer camp steeped in its own mythology and culture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FIRE HILLS by Steve Alton
FANTASY
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"Purchase where the first title is popular. (Fantasy. 12 )"
Wiccan lore and Celtic legend intertwine to drive this follow-up to The Malifex (2002). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 12, 1998

"At its heart, the hills of Tuscany echo hollow when MatÇ asks to call them home. (15 drawings) (Author tour)"
This volume takes the author (A Reasonable Life, 1993) and his artist wife into the sensuous heart of Italy and urges them to stay against the comic and idiosyncratic odds that MatÇ calls the Italian way of life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE REMEMBERED HILLS by Rosemary Sutcliff
Released: May 21, 1984

"Sutcliff fans and connoisseurs of childhood-memoirs."
With the same no-nonsense vigor that is the hallmark of her historical novels for children, Sutcliff recalls her first 25 years—making only the most matter-of-fact references to her permanent crippling by Still's Disease, a rare form of juvenile arthritis. Read full book review >