Search Results: "Lia Hills"


BOOK REVIEW

THE BEGINNER'S GUIDE TO LIVING by Lia Hills
FICTION
Released: Oct. 12, 2010

"A well-crafted story from a new voice. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Seventeen-year-old Will is desperate to find meaning in life following the sudden death of his mother. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHADOW HILLS by Anastasia Hopcus
FANTASY
Released: July 13, 2010

"An adolescent-seeming effort that may well please many adolescents, which is fine. (Paranormal romance. YA)"
This hefty supernatural debut thriller has many elements of commercial success but few of the literary kind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOLE HILLS by Jeanie Herold
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 20, 2013

"A readable but occasionally awkward set of starter poems."
A heartfelt debut collection of poetry and photography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOLLYWOOD HILLS by Joseph Wambaugh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 16, 2010

"Though everything takes forever to happen, the laughs are authentic, and a couple of endearing heroes emerge. A middling entry in this waggish series."
Wambaugh's Hollywood trilogy (Hollywood Moon, 2009, etc.) sprouts a fourth volume, another offbeat mix of broadly satirical comedy and a cast of cops apparently waiting for a procedural that never kicks in. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK HILLS by Dan Simmons
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2010

"There are rewards here, but Simmons (Drood, 2009, etc.) buries an appealing protagonist and an intriguing story under the crushing weight of a tome."
At Little Big Horn, Custer's ghost enters the body of an 11-year-old American Indian and commingles there for close to 500 pages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TIGER HILLS by Sarita Mandanna
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 9, 2011

"Beautiful prose and delicate handling prevent this melodrama from becoming maudlin."
Star-crossed lovers in India at the turn of the 20th century, drawn from first-time novelist Mandanna's family history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUSHKIN HILLS by Sergei Dovlatov
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 11, 2014

"A black comedy of eyes-wide-open excess in the vein of Frederick Exley's A Fan's Notes or David Gates' Jernigan. And a fine rumination on being Russian, besides."
Soviet émigré Dovlatov died in New York in 1990, and since then, his reputation in America, bolstered late in life by the New Yorker and by fans, including Kurt Vonnegut, has faded. With luck, that reputation will be restored and enhanced by the first English publication (with a lively, playful translation by his daughter Katherine) of this brief, fabulous, partly autobiographical 1983 novel.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 29, 2006

"Generally uneven—at its best, this recalls Jill Ker Conway's Road from Coorain; at its worst, a school theme paper."
Memories of family, single parenthood and sheep in the remote wilds of Wales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONOR TO THE HILLS by Eileen Charbonneau
FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 1996

"As the family has settled at Stony Clove, so has Charbonneau's writing matured, making poetry of the glances between lovers and kin, bonding spiritual elements with realistic ones in the atmospheric mountain setting. (Fiction. 12+)"
Now patriarch of a loud and loving Catskills clan, Asher Woods is back—and so is the ghost of Sally Hamilton—in this stunning third novel in the saga that began with The Ghosts of Stony Clove (1988). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 6, 1991

"A valuable, well-informed contribution to the legal view of Native American history, despite necessary doubts about the author's impartiality, as when the relationship between his father and the Sioux went sour."
A provocative, complex reexamination of the trail of broken promises marking historical relations between the US and the once- mighty Sioux nation, and the book debut of attorney/historian Lazarus, whose father met with substantial success after representing tribal interests in the federal judiciary for 20-odd years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ANGRY HILLS by Leon Uris
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 14, 1955

"The spectacle of attle Cry subsides to a small skirmish of one man's mission which should find a safe conduct largely to the mystery-adventure market."
An overactive adventure tale hustles back and forth between the lines during the German invasion of Greece, down into the Underground- and up against some enemy espionage when Mike Morrison, an uninvolved American, is given an envelope by a lawyer, Stergiou, in Athens to be delivered in London. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GREEN HILLS OF AFRICA by Ernest Hemingway
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 1935

"Appearing in Scribners Magazine."
The Hemingway name will carry this beyond what the usual casual interest in reminiscences of hunting in Africa would ordinarily achieve. Read full book review >