Search Results: "Lia Hills"


BOOK REVIEW

THE BEGINNER'S GUIDE TO LIVING by Lia Hills
FICTION
Released: Oct. 12, 2010

"A well-crafted story from a new voice. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Seventeen-year-old Will is desperate to find meaning in life following the sudden death of his mother. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUSHKIN HILLS by Sergei Dovlatov
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 11, 2014

"A black comedy of eyes-wide-open excess in the vein of Frederick Exley's A Fan's Notes or David Gates' Jernigan. And a fine rumination on being Russian, besides."
Soviet émigré Dovlatov died in New York in 1990, and since then, his reputation in America, bolstered late in life by the New Yorker and by fans, including Kurt Vonnegut, has faded. With luck, that reputation will be restored and enhanced by the first English publication (with a lively, playful translation by his daughter Katherine) of this brief, fabulous, partly autobiographical 1983 novel.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOLE HILLS by Jeanie Herold
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 20, 2013

"A readable but occasionally awkward set of starter poems."
A heartfelt debut collection of poetry and photography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOLLYWOOD HILLS by Joseph Wambaugh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 16, 2010

"Though everything takes forever to happen, the laughs are authentic, and a couple of endearing heroes emerge. A middling entry in this waggish series."
Wambaugh's Hollywood trilogy (Hollywood Moon, 2009, etc.) sprouts a fourth volume, another offbeat mix of broadly satirical comedy and a cast of cops apparently waiting for a procedural that never kicks in. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK HILLS by Dan Simmons
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2010

"There are rewards here, but Simmons (Drood, 2009, etc.) buries an appealing protagonist and an intriguing story under the crushing weight of a tome."
At Little Big Horn, Custer's ghost enters the body of an 11-year-old American Indian and commingles there for close to 500 pages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHADOW HILLS by Anastasia Hopcus
FANTASY
Released: July 13, 2010

"An adolescent-seeming effort that may well please many adolescents, which is fine. (Paranormal romance. YA)"
This hefty supernatural debut thriller has many elements of commercial success but few of the literary kind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TIGER HILLS by Sarita Mandanna
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 9, 2011

"Beautiful prose and delicate handling prevent this melodrama from becoming maudlin."
Star-crossed lovers in India at the turn of the 20th century, drawn from first-time novelist Mandanna's family history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GREEN HILLS OF AFRICA by Ernest Hemingway
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 21, 2015

"Papa's best and worst on full display, sometimes in the same paragraph."
A Hemingway son and grandson present a reprinting of their ancestor's 1935 work (Hemingway Library Edition) along with some illuminating supplementary material. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEVERLY HILLS ADJACENT by Jennifer Steinhauer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 12, 2009

"Not very good."
A debut novel about the TV industry during pilot season. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HILLS AT HOME by Nancy Clark
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 18, 2003

"Charming, old-fashioned, and leisurely: Reminiscent of Elizabeth Bowen or Muriel Spark, with petty strifes rendered truly as both comic (in their pettiness) and poignant (in their strife)."
A witty debut (first of a trilogy) about a New England clan whose members come together for a reunion—and can't quite manage to go home again. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 1996

Astride his trusty Trek 520, Los Angeles Times correspondent Lamb (Stolen Season, 1991, etc.) pedals his way from the Potomac to the Pacific in this entertaining 3,145-mile ramble, which is more cycling manifesto than travelogue. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN THE SPARROW HILLS by Emile Capouya
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 1993

"Odd—and also affected."
Conscience, violence, the nature of memory, good and bad faith—these are some of the themes fluffed and styled by longtime literaryman Capouya (former literary editor of The Nation; now publisher of New Amsterdam Books) in what he terms ``stories,'' although they read more like feckless, somewhat unctuous memoirs. Read full book review >