Search Results: "Libby Gleeson"


BOOK REVIEW

I AM SUSANNAH by Libby Gleeson
Released: April 15, 1989

From a talented Australian author, a sensitive study of a girl in her early teens taking the first steps toward realizing her individuality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT BEAR by Libby Gleeson
ANIMALS
Released: July 12, 2011

"Subtle—yet spectacular and deeply moving. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Can a circus bear escape her day-to-day abuse? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLANCY & MILLIE AND THE VERY FINE HOUSE by Libby Gleeson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"Cozy and sweetly empathetic. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Fanciful and reassuring, this quietly charming Australian import examines universal experiences and emotions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM THOMAS by Libby Gleeson
FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"It is far beyond the emotional understanding of the usual picture-book audience and ultimately without substance or purpose for older readers. Dark, bitter and disturbing. (Picture book. 13 & up)"
"March to the beat of your own drummer and never look back," appears to be the theme of this picture book for teens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CUDDLE TIME by Libby Gleeson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2004

"But more than most, this is one picture book that readers will want to preview before reading (or purchasing). (Picture book. 2-4)"
Unfortunate word choice and a disconcerting image mar an otherwise engaging story of two toddlers' early-morning adventure in this Australian import. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HALF A WORLD AWAY by Libby Gleeson
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2007

"The theme of friendship and separation is an enduring one, important to young children, and will prompt discussions of friendship, moving away and geography. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Preschoolers Amy and Louie are best friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 9, 2010

"A true-adventure story that also documents how prisoner abuse and recriminations spurred the federal commitment to the 'total war' that ravaged the South."
The harrowing, little-known story of the 109 Union officers who escaped from a Richmond prison in 1864—an episode that deserves a higher place in Civil War lore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY AND PEARL by Lindsey Bonnice
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Fans of Libby and Pearl will enjoy these best friends in book form, however fleeting their notoriety may be. (Picture book. 1-5)"
A sweet and cheery celebration of the Pink Frilly Dress phenomenon starring a delightfully photogenic toddler and a pink piglet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY OF HIGH HOPES by Elise Primavera
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 12, 2012

"A solid choice for horse lovers ready to move past early chapter books. (Fiction. 8-12)"
It takes a while, but high hopes finally pay off for a horse-loving girl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 1, 1996

"Adds little to Civil War literature."
Stalag 17 on the Chickahominy River, with Bluecoat and Secesh stand-ins for Cookie and Sergeant Schultz. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY ON WEDNESDAY by Zilpha Keatley Snyder
Released: March 1, 1990

"A grand, multileveled novel."
Five seventh-grade winners of a writing competition are required to form a creative writing workshop where their diversity—which at first makes them unwilling, even hostile, collaborators—eventually draws them together as friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY AND THE CLASS ELECTION by Shana Muldoon Zappa
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"It's enough better than the first to give some hope for the next 10 books. (Fantasy. 7-11)"
Immediately following (and published simultaneously with) Sage and the Journey to Wishworld (2015), people-pleasing Star Darling Libby travels to the Wishworld to grant a wish during student-council elections.Read full book review >