Search Results: "Libby Hathorn"


BOOK REVIEW

THUNDERWITH by Libby Hathorn
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 1991

"Still, a well-written, absorbing debut. (Fiction. 12+)"
In her first YA novel, an Australian author vividly portrays present-day farmers in New South Wales's coastal rain forest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WONDER THING by Libby Hathorn
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1996

"These prints have a wet-paint freshness that seems to evoke smells and sounds, as well as sights. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Vibrant illustrations with the look of linoleum block prints carry readers on an absorbing journey across longitudes and latitudes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SKY SASH SO BLUE by Libby Hathorn
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 1998

"Through it all runs Susannah's sky blue sash, a simple but talismanic scarf, a vehicle to express love, generosity, remembrance, and the tie that binds. (Picture book/poetry. 5-9)"
A fine picture book from Hathorn and Andrews: The text, a poem, is provoking and challenging, with a pulsing lyric understatement, while the superb artwork is composed of a collage of fabric snips painted in subtly harmonious, unctuous color. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WAY HOME by Libby Hathorn
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 10, 1994

"Touching, beautifully wrought, and deeply felt. (Picture book. 5- 10)"
From Australia, a stunningly illustrated depiction of a homeless boy and his kitten. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 9, 2010

"A true-adventure story that also documents how prisoner abuse and recriminations spurred the federal commitment to the 'total war' that ravaged the South."
The harrowing, little-known story of the 109 Union officers who escaped from a Richmond prison in 1864—an episode that deserves a higher place in Civil War lore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY ON WEDNESDAY by Zilpha Keatley Snyder
Released: March 1, 1990

"A grand, multileveled novel."
Five seventh-grade winners of a writing competition are required to form a creative writing workshop where their diversity—which at first makes them unwilling, even hostile, collaborators—eventually draws them together as friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY AND PEARL by Lindsey Bonnice
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Fans of Libby and Pearl will enjoy these best friends in book form, however fleeting their notoriety may be. (Picture book. 1-5)"
A sweet and cheery celebration of the Pink Frilly Dress phenomenon starring a delightfully photogenic toddler and a pink piglet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY OF HIGH HOPES by Elise Primavera
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 12, 2012

"A solid choice for horse lovers ready to move past early chapter books. (Fiction. 8-12)"
It takes a while, but high hopes finally pay off for a horse-loving girl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 1, 1996

"Adds little to Civil War literature."
Stalag 17 on the Chickahominy River, with Bluecoat and Secesh stand-ins for Cookie and Sergeant Schultz. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY AND THE CLASS ELECTION by Shana Muldoon Zappa
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"It's enough better than the first to give some hope for the next 10 books. (Fantasy. 7-11)"
Immediately following (and published simultaneously with) Sage and the Journey to Wishworld (2015), people-pleasing Star Darling Libby travels to the Wishworld to grant a wish during student-council elections.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BIG OVERNIGHT by Libby Kirsch
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 30, 2016

"A light and amusing whodunit that proves time spent in the company of the heroine is time well spent indeed."
Stella Reynolds investigates a pair of murders in this latest installment of Kirsch's (The Big Interview, 2016, etc.) chick-lit mystery series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM SUSANNAH by Libby Gleeson
Released: April 15, 1989

From a talented Australian author, a sensitive study of a girl in her early teens taking the first steps toward realizing her individuality. Read full book review >