Search Results: "Libby Koponen"


BOOK REVIEW

BLOW OUT THE MOON by Libby Koponen
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2004

"Harking back to gentler times, this winsome, nostalgic memoir is as delicate and old-fashioned as a doily on a wingback chair. (Fiction. 8-11)"
Fried bread, gray rain, drab institutions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUSE BABA BUILT by Ed Young
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Oct. 3, 2011

"Sophisticated, inventive art invites close viewings for patient readers in this unusual family story. (foreword, time line, author's note) (Picture book/memoir. 7-12)"
Flashes of multi-media brilliance illuminate this darkly colored, leisurely paced memoir of childhood in Shanghai. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 9, 2010

"A true-adventure story that also documents how prisoner abuse and recriminations spurred the federal commitment to the 'total war' that ravaged the South."
The harrowing, little-known story of the 109 Union officers who escaped from a Richmond prison in 1864—an episode that deserves a higher place in Civil War lore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY OF HIGH HOPES by Elise Primavera
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 12, 2012

"A solid choice for horse lovers ready to move past early chapter books. (Fiction. 8-12)"
It takes a while, but high hopes finally pay off for a horse-loving girl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 1, 1996

"Adds little to Civil War literature."
Stalag 17 on the Chickahominy River, with Bluecoat and Secesh stand-ins for Cookie and Sergeant Schultz. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY AND PEARL by Lindsey Bonnice
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Fans of Libby and Pearl will enjoy these best friends in book form, however fleeting their notoriety may be. (Picture book. 1-5)"
A sweet and cheery celebration of the Pink Frilly Dress phenomenon starring a delightfully photogenic toddler and a pink piglet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY ON WEDNESDAY by Zilpha Keatley Snyder
Released: March 1, 1990

"A grand, multileveled novel."
Five seventh-grade winners of a writing competition are required to form a creative writing workshop where their diversity—which at first makes them unwilling, even hostile, collaborators—eventually draws them together as friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY AND THE CLASS ELECTION by Shana Muldoon Zappa
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"It's enough better than the first to give some hope for the next 10 books. (Fantasy. 7-11)"
Immediately following (and published simultaneously with) Sage and the Journey to Wishworld (2015), people-pleasing Star Darling Libby travels to the Wishworld to grant a wish during student-council elections.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BIG OVERNIGHT by Libby Kirsch
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 30, 2016

"A light and amusing whodunit that proves time spent in the company of the heroine is time well spent indeed."
Stella Reynolds investigates a pair of murders in this latest installment of Kirsch's (The Big Interview, 2016, etc.) chick-lit mystery series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THUNDERWITH by Libby Hathorn
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 1991

"Still, a well-written, absorbing debut. (Fiction. 12+)"
In her first YA novel, an Australian author vividly portrays present-day farmers in New South Wales's coastal rain forest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM SUSANNAH by Libby Gleeson
Released: April 15, 1989

From a talented Australian author, a sensitive study of a girl in her early teens taking the first steps toward realizing her individuality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Passion Season by Libby Doyle
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 19, 2016

"A tale about Lucifer's son that deftly draws in readers with engrossing characters and room for expansion."
An ancient warrior on Earth for centuries falls in love with a human woman, which may make him vulnerable to his evil, demon-controlling father in this debut paranormal romance. Read full book review >