Search Results: "Libby Sternberg"


BOOK REVIEW

RECOVERING DAD by Libby Sternberg
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Although a bit too busy, her story finally emerges as intriguing. (Mystery. YA)"
This third installment in the Bianca Balducci mystery series finds its titular character struggling with family and boyfriend problems. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FINDING THE FORGER by Libby Sternberg
FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 2004

"Sternberg throws in a couple of nice red herrings along with some action sequences that make the story satisfying, but keeps her focus on the kind of humor that should appeal to high-school readers. (Fiction. 12-15)"
This second installment in a series of mysteries featuring Bianca Balducci, 15-year-old detective wannabe, has the feisty sophomore involved in tracking down an art thief. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNCOVERING SADIE’S SECRETS by Libby Sternberg
FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 2003

"It's an extra entertainment for mystery fans, one for those who want a puzzle without a ghost or a murder and who don't mind the retro girl stuff. (Fiction. 12-16)"
Publicized as the first in a series of mysteries featuring Bianca Balducci, 15-year-old high-school sleuth, this effort from first-time novelist Sternberg should satisfy mystery lovers, though it will likely annoy forward-thinking young women. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 9, 2010

"A true-adventure story that also documents how prisoner abuse and recriminations spurred the federal commitment to the 'total war' that ravaged the South."
The harrowing, little-known story of the 109 Union officers who escaped from a Richmond prison in 1864—an episode that deserves a higher place in Civil War lore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY ON WEDNESDAY by Zilpha Keatley Snyder
Released: March 1, 1990

"A grand, multileveled novel."
Five seventh-grade winners of a writing competition are required to form a creative writing workshop where their diversity—which at first makes them unwilling, even hostile, collaborators—eventually draws them together as friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY AND PEARL by Lindsey Bonnice
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Fans of Libby and Pearl will enjoy these best friends in book form, however fleeting their notoriety may be. (Picture book. 1-5)"
A sweet and cheery celebration of the Pink Frilly Dress phenomenon starring a delightfully photogenic toddler and a pink piglet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY OF HIGH HOPES by Elise Primavera
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 12, 2012

"A solid choice for horse lovers ready to move past early chapter books. (Fiction. 8-12)"
It takes a while, but high hopes finally pay off for a horse-loving girl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 1, 1996

"Adds little to Civil War literature."
Stalag 17 on the Chickahominy River, with Bluecoat and Secesh stand-ins for Cookie and Sergeant Schultz. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIBBY AND THE CLASS ELECTION by Shana Muldoon Zappa
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"It's enough better than the first to give some hope for the next 10 books. (Fantasy. 7-11)"
Immediately following (and published simultaneously with) Sage and the Journey to Wishworld (2015), people-pleasing Star Darling Libby travels to the Wishworld to grant a wish during student-council elections.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH ON THE NOT-SO-BLUE DANUBE by Irv Sternberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 27, 2016

"Short but diverting whodunits featuring a laudable part-time detective."
Murder seems to follow a Denver stand-up comedian who ends up playing the part of an amateur sleuth in Sternberg's (Cobalt Blues, 2016, etc.) collection of three mystery novellas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

QUEENS OF ALL THE EARTH by Hannah Sternberg
Released: Oct. 28, 2011

"An ambitious effort to whip up a new take on an old story, this needs more flour, fresher soda and far less frosting. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A new-millennium update of E.M. Forster's A Room with a View. Read full book review >