Search Results: "Lilian Duval"


BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 15, 2011

"Achieves the neat trick of presenting moral values in a persuasive and uplifting way without being preachy or boring.
"
In this novel by a 9/11 survivor, chance plays a major role in the lives of two best friends—but character plays an even bigger one. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SEARCH FOR KATE DUVAL by Jr. Edwards
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"One-dimensional characters and sketchy plotting make for a deeply flawed love story, although the prevailing mood of catastrophic midlife crisis seems genuine enough."
A winter-summer relationship ends tragically, leaving the older man grieving in his beloved's snowbound trailer, feeding carrots to her horse and reading her family history: an awkard near-parody by the respected author of Peggy SaltÇ (1983). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A CHILD OF RAPE by John duVal
Released: Jan. 15, 2011

"A rollicking, complex read.
"
A densely plotted, gay coming-of-age novel starring the talented Erik, whose lengthy history is half hard-boiled Jim Thompson mayhem and half Martha Grimes youthful fantasia, heavily laden with crime, war (both international and domestic), alcoholism and, ultimately, personal triumph. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REAR VIEW by Pete Duval
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 28, 2004

"Still, an impressive start for this Bakeless Prize winner (2003) with a lean, efficient style and an understanding of the brutality of life on the economic margins."
Twelve stories, many set in New Bedford, in the tradition of Andre Dubus and Raymond Carver, illuminate the lives of working-class people with moments of rare beauty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INDEPENDENCE LOST by Kathleen DuVal
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 7, 2015

"An illuminating history of events, many barely mentioned in history books and none, unlike our Revolution, with happy endings."
An informative and disturbing account of a little-known campaign during the Colonial rebellion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 9, 2010

"Well-intentioned but repetitive and too hypothetical."
Political treatise suggesting that the wired and tolerant under-30 "millennials" must apply open-source principles to the process of governance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BEAR'S YEAR by Kathy Duval
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"A slow, soft read-aloud, good for bedtime or when Bear Snores On is too rowdy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In short rhyming text, a mother bear and her cubs experience a year of changing seasons until it's time to hibernate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SINGING FIRE by Lilian Nattel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 17, 2004

"Beautifully written, strongly imagined, and deeply felt."
Another marvelous tale steeped in Jewish history and culture, from the author of The River Midnight (1999). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RIVER MIDNIGHT by Lilian Nattel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 1999

"A marvelous debut and a loving anatomy of the vanished world of the shtetls that merits comparison with the best work of Singer and Sholom Aleichem. (Book-of-the-Month Club/QPB alternate selection)"
A young Canadian writer's brilliant first novel skillfully evokes what Irving Howe called the —World of Our Fathers— and the genius of such literary forerunners and likely influences as Isaac Bashevis Singer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 29, 2016

"An intensive primer to a complex aspect of a sophisticated philosophy."
A passionate introduction to the practice of Jyotish, an ancient form of astrology rooted in Hinduism that fosters self-exploration while offering guidance and predictions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST PRINCESS OF MANCHURIA by Lilian Lee
Released: Aug. 22, 1992

"An exotic item well worth a fascinated glance."
In a first translation ever, Lee (pseudonym of Hong Kong writer Li Pik-Wah)—a widely read, prolific author of novels and film scripts—offers a high-colored meld of Wonder Woman postures and the poignancy of forlorn romantic suffering. Read full book review >