Search Results: "Lincoln Agnew"


BOOK REVIEW

HARRY AND HORSIE by Katie Van Camp
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"Young boys and space adventurers will adore this captivating, exuberant and contagious tale. (Picture book. 3-6)"
It's past bedtime, but Harry and Horsie are still awake, drawn to the Super Duper Bubble Blooper aglow in the moonlight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COOKIEBOT! by Katie Van Camp
ADVENTURE
Released: June 1, 2011

"Inventive, animated and irresistible. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Harry and Horsie return to battle a giant, cookie-eating robot in this winning tale that will satisfy sweet tooth and thrill-seeker alike. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE ON A ROLL by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2011

"Plenty of Nate's homemade comix and panels from his life pepper the story; fans will cheer at the announcement of the fourth volume at the end. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright needs a new skateboard…but more than that he needs to beat perfect Artur at SOMETHING. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UTOPIA by Lincoln Child
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 24, 2002

"There are worse ways to kill a few hours than with Utopia, but, oh, what it could have done with a batch of hungry velociraptors."
A book that was much better when it had dinosaurs in it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEEP STORM by Lincoln Child
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 16, 2007

"Mildly chilling techno-thriller."
Deep drilling in the North Atlantic brings discovery of considerably greater interest than the usual crude oil. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GAME ON! by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 16, 2013

"Fans and collectors will want 'em all. Big Nate continues to rock. (Comics collection. 6-12)"
Big Nate Wright has got game! At least he thinks he does. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright doesn't excel in much at P.S.38. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVIE BROOKS IS MAROONED IN MANHATTAN by Sheila Agnew
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 3, 2015

"A predictable plot and poor character development squash this outing. (Fiction. 9-12)"
A summer in Manhattan unites an orphaned girl with an uncle she barely knows. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2009

"Kids who haven't read the first book in the series will certainly find themselves out to sea with this tepid sequel. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
A sadly weak follow-up to an engaging first novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOSAIC by Lincoln Kirstein
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 1994

"One hopes that Kirstein's elliptical ending is the promise of another volume to complete his colorful mosaic."
This memoir by the octogenarian Kirstein (Portrait of Mr. B, 1984) displays a Proustian sensibility in its wholesale allegiance to art and the senses and in its nostalgic tableau vivant of times and places past. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH MATCH by Lincoln Child
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 11, 2004

"Terrific writing—though the climax, overly spun out, sticks to thriller format."
Second solo work by Child, who writes mighty thrillers with Douglas Preston (Still Life with Crows, 2003, etc.). Read full book review >