Search Results: "Lincoln Peirce"


BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE ON A ROLL by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2011

"Plenty of Nate's homemade comix and panels from his life pepper the story; fans will cheer at the announcement of the fourth volume at the end. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright needs a new skateboard…but more than that he needs to beat perfect Artur at SOMETHING. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE STRIKES AGAIN by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"Fans will be in heaven; thank goodness number three is already on the way. (Graphic hybrid/fiction. 7-11)"
Fresh from his daily comic strip, sixth grader Nate Wright returns for another novel-length adventure (Big Nate: In a Class By Himself, 2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GAME ON! by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 16, 2013

"Fans and collectors will want 'em all. Big Nate continues to rock. (Comics collection. 6-12)"
Big Nate Wright has got game! At least he thinks he does. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright doesn't excel in much at P.S.38. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LINCOLN by Milton Meltzer
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Sept. 1, 1993

"A splendid book, for every library. (Nonfiction. 12+)"
Describing Lincoln as "one of the greatest masters of the English language," Meltzer lets him speak eloquently for himself, skillfully selecting passages from Lincoln's speeches, letters, and other writings to characterize the man, follow the development of his ideas, and exemplify his achievements. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LINCOLN by Fred Kaplan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 3, 2008

"A highly readable, often insightful analysis of an unequaled prose master for whom writing was 'the supreme artifact of human genius.'"
How the 16th president used—and transformed—the English language. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LINCOLN by David Herbert Donald
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"A magisterial work, destined to assume its place with those of Beveridge, Sandburg, Thomas, and Oates as a standard life of Lincoln. (Book-of-the-Month Club split main selection; History Book Club main selection)"
In a significant contribution to Lincoln scholarship, distinguished historian and Pulitzer Prizewinning biographer Donald (Harvard; Look Homeward: A Life of Thomas Wolfe, 1987, etc.) draws a richly detailed, absorbing portrait of our 16th president. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LINCOLN by Russell Freedman
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Nov. 16, 1987

"This is a necessary purchase for all collections—and an opportunity for librarians to scrutinize earlier biographies on Lincoln that have long occupied their shelves."
Relying on the recent scholarly biographies that have argued that many famous Abraham Lincoln stories are myths, Freedman carefully introduces a more realistic portrait than is usually found in juvenile biographies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHARLES SANDERS PEIRCE by Joseph Brent
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 1993

"It may be possible to offer more subtle and revealing readings of Peirce's character, but it would be hard to write a more sympathetic and eloquent one. (Thirty-five b&w photographs—not seen.)"
After completing his doctoral dissertation on Peirce (1839- 1914), Brent (Intellectual History/University of the District of Columbia) waited 30 years to gain access to the private papers of the controversial founder of pragmatism and semiotics—papers that were suppressed by a Harvard faculty who believed they were protecting Peirce's intellectual reputation—and to write this biography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRESIDENT LINCOLN by Demi
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 12, 2016

"A picture-book portrait that's beautiful as well as admiring. (Picture book/biography. 5-10)"
With a jewel cutter's precision of image and a like economy of language, Demi tells the story of the 16th U.S. president. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTER LINCOLN by A.J. Langguth
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 16, 2014

"Langguth shows rather than explains, and the result is a rich history of an understudied period of American history."
A new political history of Reconstruction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRESIDENT LINCOLN by William Lee Miller
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 5, 2008

"A creative thesis thoroughly explored and beautifully argued."
A member of the board of the Abraham Lincoln Institute and the Lincoln Studies Group examines the moral reasoning at the heart of the president's statecraft. Read full book review >