Search Results: "Lincoln Peirce"


BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE ON A ROLL by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2011

"Plenty of Nate's homemade comix and panels from his life pepper the story; fans will cheer at the announcement of the fourth volume at the end. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright needs a new skateboard…but more than that he needs to beat perfect Artur at SOMETHING. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE STRIKES AGAIN by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"Fans will be in heaven; thank goodness number three is already on the way. (Graphic hybrid/fiction. 7-11)"
Fresh from his daily comic strip, sixth grader Nate Wright returns for another novel-length adventure (Big Nate: In a Class By Himself, 2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GAME ON! by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 16, 2013

"Fans and collectors will want 'em all. Big Nate continues to rock. (Comics collection. 6-12)"
Big Nate Wright has got game! At least he thinks he does. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright doesn't excel in much at P.S.38. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ELEPHANT’S TRUNK by Hazel Lincoln
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"An especially great resource for diverse classrooms that include special-needs children. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A delightful tale about animal adaptations, being comfortable in the skin you're in and learning how your body works. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PIRATE'S HANDBOOK by Margarette Lincoln
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"Wright's book contains a bit more of information and a bibliography, but Lincoln's is so attractive that it's a natural for book talks and browsing. (Nonfiction. 7-10)"
Snippets of all things related to pirates fill this intriguing volume, subtitled, ``How to Become a Rogue of the High Seas.'' Lincoln (Amazing Boats, 1992) draws heavily from the collection of the National Maritime Museum of London for historical information and artwork. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"Well-written, humorous, and instructive: a useful resource for China-watchers and travelers. (17 b&w drawings, not seen, by Kaye's Taiwanese wife, Hsu Mei-lang)"
A literate journey into some remote corners of Asia in a puzzling time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 24, 1993

"A convincing portrait in microcosm of the transformation of a once-sleepy profession into a giant, though troubled, global industry."
Illuminating, extraordinarily candid history of the mega-law firm of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom—one of a handful of firms that, within the last 20 years, have fundamentally changed the American law business. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAISLEY MISCHIEF by Lincoln MacVeagh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 24, 2014

"MacVeagh's satirical style is adequately smooth and somewhat amusing. Readers fascinated with the lifestyles of the very rich may enjoy a chuckle or two."
Ever wonder what goes on behind the closed doors of those exclusive gentleman's clubs populated by the Park Avenue elite? MacVeagh's comedy of manners reveals all as a candidate sets his sights on gaining acceptance to one such establishment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2008

"A political memoir characterized by unremitting self-regard and precious little self-awareness."
Former Senator Chafee (R-RI) recounts bitterly partisan politics and his disaffection from the GOP. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TERMINAL FREEZE by Lincoln Child
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 24, 2009

"Child (Deep Storm, 2007, etc.) depicts his frigid setting with greater authority than his characters, diminishing his thriller's impact. Far from a classic, but a minor-league Jurassic."
Furry prehistoric beast thaws, then makes up for lost meals with human victims. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FULL WOLF MOON by Lincoln Child
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 16, 2017

"Mixing timeless legends of lycanthropy into a Jekyll-and-Hyde dynamic won't be everyone's cup of tea, but there's enough reading fun to while away an afternoon."
As he brings back his favorite "enigmalogist," Dr. Jeremy Logan, Child (The Third Gate, 2012, etc.) adds DNA manipulation to a prehistoric legend to create a very modern werewolf. Read full book review >