Search Results: "Lincoln Peirce"


BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE ON A ROLL by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2011

"Plenty of Nate's homemade comix and panels from his life pepper the story; fans will cheer at the announcement of the fourth volume at the end. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright needs a new skateboard…but more than that he needs to beat perfect Artur at SOMETHING. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE STRIKES AGAIN by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"Fans will be in heaven; thank goodness number three is already on the way. (Graphic hybrid/fiction. 7-11)"
Fresh from his daily comic strip, sixth grader Nate Wright returns for another novel-length adventure (Big Nate: In a Class By Himself, 2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GAME ON! by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 16, 2013

"Fans and collectors will want 'em all. Big Nate continues to rock. (Comics collection. 6-12)"
Big Nate Wright has got game! At least he thinks he does. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sixth grader Nate Wright doesn't excel in much at P.S.38. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE ELEPHANT’S TRUNK by Hazel Lincoln
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"An especially great resource for diverse classrooms that include special-needs children. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A delightful tale about animal adaptations, being comfortable in the skin you're in and learning how your body works. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PIRATE'S HANDBOOK by Margarette Lincoln
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"Wright's book contains a bit more of information and a bibliography, but Lincoln's is so attractive that it's a natural for book talks and browsing. (Nonfiction. 7-10)"
Snippets of all things related to pirates fill this intriguing volume, subtitled, ``How to Become a Rogue of the High Seas.'' Lincoln (Amazing Boats, 1992) draws heavily from the collection of the National Maritime Museum of London for historical information and artwork. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 24, 1993

"A convincing portrait in microcosm of the transformation of a once-sleepy profession into a giant, though troubled, global industry."
Illuminating, extraordinarily candid history of the mega-law firm of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom—one of a handful of firms that, within the last 20 years, have fundamentally changed the American law business. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"Well-written, humorous, and instructive: a useful resource for China-watchers and travelers. (17 b&w drawings, not seen, by Kaye's Taiwanese wife, Hsu Mei-lang)"
A literate journey into some remote corners of Asia in a puzzling time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAISLEY MISCHIEF by Lincoln MacVeagh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 24, 2014

"MacVeagh's satirical style is adequately smooth and somewhat amusing. Readers fascinated with the lifestyles of the very rich may enjoy a chuckle or two."
Ever wonder what goes on behind the closed doors of those exclusive gentleman's clubs populated by the Park Avenue elite? MacVeagh's comedy of manners reveals all as a candidate sets his sights on gaining acceptance to one such establishment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2008

"A political memoir characterized by unremitting self-regard and precious little self-awareness."
Former Senator Chafee (R-RI) recounts bitterly partisan politics and his disaffection from the GOP. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UPRIGHT BEASTS by Lincoln Michel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"A strong debut despite its unevenness."
Michel, an editor at Gigantic and Electric Literature, makes his fiction debut with a collection of stories—all restrained, all strange. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TERMINAL FREEZE by Lincoln Child
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 24, 2009

"Child (Deep Storm, 2007, etc.) depicts his frigid setting with greater authority than his characters, diminishing his thriller's impact. Far from a classic, but a minor-league Jurassic."
Furry prehistoric beast thaws, then makes up for lost meals with human victims. Read full book review >