Search Results: "Linda Davick"


BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE YOU, NOSE! I LOVE YOU, TOES! by Linda Davick
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 2, 2013

"Sharing this jolly, cheeky ode with little ones will produce some giggles while helping to instill an appreciation for the wondrous human body and all its necessary parts. (Picture book. 2-6)"
A bubbly celebration of the human body. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAY HELLO! by Linda Davick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 4, 2015

"An upbeat if not essential celebration of a common courtesy. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A cheerful crew demonstrates some of the ways we can greet each other. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

10 TRICK-OR-TREATERS by Janet Schulman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 9, 2005

Schulman gives the traditional count-down book a Halloween twist in this adaptation of the classic rhyme involving monkeys bouncing on a bed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WE LOVE OUR SCHOOL! by Judy Sierra
ANIMALS
Released: June 28, 2011

"A comforting and empowering build-up to the big day—kindergarten (or preschool), here we come! (Picture book. 3-6)"
Just right for new kindergartners and preschoolers who cannot yet read words, this is one school story that they will be able to help in reading. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WE LOVE YOU, ROSIE! by Cynthia Rylant
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 28, 2017

"A cozy, Rosie read. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Two black children, who could be seen as fraternal twins, lavish love on their dachshund, Rosie. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLO RUBY by Linda Liukas
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"Ditch the anemic story and nerd-pandering, but keep the nifty activity book. (glossary) (Fiction/activity book. 5-8)"
Originally a Kickstarter project, this chapter-book/workbook hybrid seeks to introduce programming to young readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU BE YOU by Linda Kranz
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"A good choice to help children consider similarities and differences. (Picture book. 3-6)"
There are many fish in the sea—and they are all different. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEY, DIDDLE, DIDDLE by LInda Bronson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2003

"Nursery rhymes are perennial favorites: this compendium is more complete and more charmingly illustrated than most. (Picture book. 2-7)"
This collection of nursery rhymes amazes in its comprehensiveness; favorites like the title rhyme and "London Bridge Is Falling Down" as well as relative unknowns are included here, all illustrated in fascinating three-dimensional collage incorporating paint, clay, and other items. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Place by Linda  Orvis
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 22, 2015

"A quietly shocking page-turner that chooses to be poetic instead of preachy."
In Orvis' (In the Mousehole, 2014) romantic thriller, a woman tries to resolve her fantastic double life.Read full book review >