Search Results: "Linda K. Friedlaender"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"A pleasingly high-energy invitation to see, understand and appreciate art… and to make some too. (credits, thumbnail bio of Hepworth) (Informational picture book. 6-9)"
Three frisky mice, sensibilities honed by an exposure to painting in Look! Look! Look! (2006), give 3-D art a similarly close onceover. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2006

"An accessible book, packed with learning opportunities. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Three clever mice (budding artists all) deconstruct a famous painting, and use what they learn to explore their own ideas about art. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAITH ED by Linda K. Wertheimer
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 18, 2015

"A worthwhile study marred by bias."
Narrow examination of the teaching of religion in America's public schools. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LIKING THE UNLIKABLE
by Leila Roy

I know it’s not cool to define yourself by a boy. Girls are supposed to be independent, these days. We should be Strong Female Characters, we should be tough and self-motivated and grrrrrls instead of girls. We’re supposed to run the world—girls—and look unapologetically into the camera. We don’t have to smile. We can cross our arms or curl our ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SAY HELLO! by Linda Davick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 4, 2015

"An upbeat if not essential celebration of a common courtesy. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A cheerful crew demonstrates some of the ways we can greet each other. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT'S IN MY TRUCK? by Linda Bleck
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"This convoy is sure to please the toddler set and beyond. (Board book. 2-4)"
Readers can explore the cargoes of five different trucks by lifting 30-plus flaps. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SANTA'S HAT by Linda Bleck
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2012

"Not particularly hilarious or inventive, but a simple and satisfying enough story for the season. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Santa can't find his hat on Christmas Eve, so he tries on lots of other types of headwear until Mrs. Claus and the elves solve his problem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"Precious in the very best sense of the word, these sophisticated, delicate images repay repeated examination, as well as sending the sweet message that girls are thought as beautiful as flowers all over the world. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The opening spread is breathtakingly lovely: "Flora, Florica, Kukka, Lore, Hana and Zvetana mean flower." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLEIGH BELLS AND SNOWFLAKES by LInda Bronson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"The poems and songs may be old chestnuts, but Bronson's art is as fresh and surprising as an unexpected snowfall. (Poetry. 2-6)"
Bronson (Just Think, 2001, etc.) selected 19 poems, including 11 traditional Christmas carols or well-known songs such as "Silver Bells" and "Jolly Old Saint Nicholas," each serving as a springboard for her unusual illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CIRCUS ALPHABET by LInda Bronson
ABC BOOKS
Released: May 1, 2001

"The bright colors and eccentric forms command attention, and if children skip the text, they won't miss much. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Bronson earns high marks for dazzling visuals in her solo debut, even if the rhymed captions don't always measure up. Read full book review >