Search Results: "Linda Sanders-Wells"


BOOK REVIEW

MAGGIE’S MONKEYS by Linda Sanders-Wells
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2009

"A humorous tale sure to make siblings smile, even as they inwardly groan. (Picture book. 3-8)"
A family of pink polar monkeys has moved into the refrigerator, and Maggie's older brother cannot fathom why the entire family is catering to the imagination of his still-thumb-sucking younger sister. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAD LOVE by Linda Wells
Released: March 14, 2013

"A tightly plotted, satisfying mystery-thriller."
Wells delivers a debut thriller about a biological terrorist attack, the people determined to stop it and the woman at the heart of it all. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RACHEL'S SECRET by Shelly Sanders
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 16, 2012

"Critical for its underexplored subject. (historical note, glossary) (Historical fiction. 10-15)"
This novelization of the 1903 Kishinev pogrom graphically describes the carnage as Christian Russians slaughter their Jewish fellow townspeople. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 13, 1983

"Crass stuff, then, neither funny nor involving, and more like a pornfilm scenario (without the hard-core porn) than a novel—but sure to attract an audience with the Sanders byline, the intriguing opening pages, and the heavily sexual premise."
The smirky, undramatic rise of a male prostitute—in a long, frankly plotless novel (171 teensy chapters) that offers Sanders' cheery vulgarity without any of his talent for mystery/suspense. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE 1ST DEADLY SIN by Lawrence Sanders
Released: Oct. 24, 1973

"Of its kind — commercial but classy commercial (far better written than say The Exorcist) — it's as addictive as anything you're likely to read for several uninterrupted evenings this season."
Full (October) selection of the B-O-M, a first printing of 100,000, an advertising kickoff of $50,000 — and you get the picture — the big picture (that too — Columbia) for a conglomerate novel which is half police procedural (remember The Anderson Tapes — here sans gadgetry), a quarter entailing some slinky, kinky sex (remember Sanders' Pleasures of Helen and Love Songs) and fill in the rest with a great detective, a detective's detective, Ed Delaney by name, and the additional grab (as if it needed it) that his wife Barbara is dying (is she?) of a strange illness called Proteus infection. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 6, 2009

"Fans of Jerome Groopman and Atul Gawande will appreciate this first collection by another astute observer of the medical profession."
A doctor's insightful reflections on the disconnect between how physicians should practice and how they actually practice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHARON TATE by Ed Sanders
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"Readers are likely to finish the book more confused than illuminated by all the possibilities, theories, and potential co-conspirators."
The author revisits the murder that spawned his best-known book, The Family (1971).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Ex Lottery by Kim Sanders
ROMANCE
Released: May 19, 2014

"A light, uplifting romance that's equal parts comedy, fairy tale and travelogue."
Contemporary romance about a young woman who wins the lottery and travels to Ireland to buy a castle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FREAK by Ron Sanders
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: June 27, 2007

"Maximal sensory overload but minimal depth perception."
Graphic sex, violence and language permeate Sanders's first novel, an in-your-face thriller set in sunny Southern California. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TOMORROW FILE by Lawrence Sanders
Released: Sept. 1, 1975

"It could be self-fulfilling."
Tomorrow's not far off in a plastiworld (everything, by the way, does seem to be plastiformed) of acronyms, computers, cassettes, clones, spare parts, genetic variants, government-licensed pregnancies and genders, synthetic foods and drugs, cosmetics to be applied to your most intimate recesses, and chromosomatic "efs" and "ems" (i.e., females, males)—a world in which you could easily lose your mind as well as your Personhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOPHIE'S TERRIBLE TWOS by Rosemary Wells
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"A worthy topic and a capable concept that barely miss the mark. (Picture book. 2-6)"
It's Sophie's birthday, but nothing seems right to this headstrong 2-year-old until Granny saves the day in this rote offering from Wells. Read full book review >