Search Results: "Linda Smith"


BOOK REVIEW

THERE WAS AN OLD WOMAN WHO LIVED IN A BOOT by Linda Smith
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"Readers of Mother Goose with lingering questions about that old woman with so many children will find some answers at last, in this lively take on the traditional rhyme. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The author of Mrs. Biddlebox (2002) posits another irascible senior citizen, this one living in a big boot with only an equally irritable cat for company. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MRS. CRUMP’S CAT by Linda Smith
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2006

"Kids will see what's coming and giggle as the cat pussyfoots its way into Mrs. Crump's home and heart. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Who doesn't know someone who adamantly vows never to let a stray cat in the house? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN MOON FELL DOWN by Linda Smith
ANIMALS
Released: May 31, 2001

"Maybe so, but Moon is last seen winking and grinning warmly down from the sky, a celestial invitation to share happy memories. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The Moon has taken many an excursion to Earth in picture books, but never has he had a better time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INSIDE TREE by Linda Smith
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2010

"Potter's noodlehead behavior will have kids anticipating and groaning throughout. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Mr. Potter lives a cozy life in his little house, enjoying tea by the fire and looking out at a fine tree in his yard, underneath which his dog sleeps. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MRS. BIDDLEBOX by Linda Smith
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"If Betsy Everitt's Mean Soup (1992) isn't filling enough, dish up this tempting dessert. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Features pinched, frizzy hair floating like a cloud of concentrated gloom overhead, entirely surrounded by great, dark angry swirls of color, old Mrs. Biddlebox has definitely gotten up on the wrong side of the bed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"Meticulous, moving account of how basketball helped shape the lives of ten American Indian women at the dawn of the 20th century."
Another fascinating tale of fortitude and passion from the longtime women's history partnership of Peavy and Smith (Frontier Children, 1999, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OVER THE RIVER & THROUGH THE WOOD by Linda Ashman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"A rollicking fun time sure to be a hit with those traveling for their own family gatherings. (Picture book. 3-8)"
An invitation to a holiday gathering at Grandma and Grandpa's house is the catalyst for some new verses to the familiar song. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

GOOSEBUMPS
by Leila Roy

When sleep finally comes, I sink into a murky world of shadows. There is a tunnel before me, with bright light in the distance. The ground rumbles. White fog surrounds me. My heart is pounding. Something is coming, but I do not know what, and only feel its presence, a terrible shadow that slithers along the ground, leaving a trail ...

Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SAY HELLO! by Linda Davick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 4, 2015

"An upbeat if not essential celebration of a common courtesy. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A cheerful crew demonstrates some of the ways we can greet each other. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT'S IN MY TRUCK? by Linda Bleck
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"This convoy is sure to please the toddler set and beyond. (Board book. 2-4)"
Readers can explore the cargoes of five different trucks by lifting 30-plus flaps. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE YOU, NOSE! I LOVE YOU, TOES! by Linda Davick
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 2, 2013

"Sharing this jolly, cheeky ode with little ones will produce some giggles while helping to instill an appreciation for the wondrous human body and all its necessary parts. (Picture book. 2-6)"
A bubbly celebration of the human body. Read full book review >