Search Results: "Lisa Berger"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 22, 1994

"The patient notes are a trifle gimmicky, and the accounts of group meetings become tiresome, but the writing sparkles when the subject is scientific research."
Ostensibly a slice of life inside McLean Hospital in Belmont, Mass., during a two-week period in the spring of 1993, but actually a report on the status of psychiatric treatment today. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 16, 1991

"An uncommonly useful book that should be a godsend to any family have a member afflicted with manic depression."
A harrowing account of manic depression, plus information about the disease, by Diane Berger, mother of a manic-depressive son, and Lisa Berger, her sister and a free-lance writer (Parade, Vogue, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

F IS FOR FEELINGS by Goldie Millar
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 20, 2014

"Useful, if not particularly artful. (Informational picture book. 5-8, adult)"
An alphabet of emotions, created by two clinical psychologists for parent-child discussions. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LISA CAREY
by Megan Labrise

The Stolen Child may be set on a fairy-filled Irish island, but it is “Magical realism of the best kind, utterly devoid of whimsy,” according to Kirkus’ starred review.

“My friends loved that quote, ‘utterly devoid of whimsy,’ ” says author Lisa Carey, who was recently abroad in Turkey, where we reached her by phone. “They said that ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LISA BUNKER
by Megan Labrise

Some of the best advice Lisa Bunker received for writing a book had nothing to do with writing a book.

“The best advice I ever got for naming a child was ‘use all the names you love,’ ” says Bunker, author of Felix Yz. “By the time the next kid comes along, you’ll love different names—don’t hold one for ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIDGET FIDGET AND THE MOST PERFECT PET!  by Joe Berger
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"Familiar waters, sure, but it's the rare child who doesn't dream of having his or her very own Thunderhooves. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Bridget Fidget desperately wants a pet unicorn to name Thunderhooves, so when a giant box arrives downstairs marked "Fragile" (or, as she imagines, "Here's your new pet!") she dives right in, spreading Styrofoam pellets ("snow") all over the house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT! GOOD NIGHT! by Carin Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"Young readers will giggle over the bedtime jollity, while parents may recognize the familiar bedtime battle and see themselves in the mother rabbit whose love and patience prevail.(Picture book. 3-7)"
Three mischievous bunnies finally fall asleep in this playful look at the bedtime routine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BENTO'S SKETCHBOOK by John Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"Berger's readers will see with fresh eyes."
A deceptively brief volume offers profound meditations on art, the creative process and so much more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PIOUS ONES by Joseph Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 9, 2014

"Through Berger's solid research and approachable writing, readers will gain a clear, well-rounded understanding of who the Hasidim are, where they came from and where they are going as a people."
A fascinating behind-the-scenes look at the world of Hasidim. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 1999

"Old-time basketball fans will enjoy remembering Pistol Pete, and young fans will be introduced to the player who left such a mark on the sport at a time when showmanship on the hardwood was not the norm. (16 pages b&w photos)"
An informative biography of the legendary basketball player who died suddenly in 1988 at the age of 40 because of a congenital heart defect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

G. by John Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 8, 1972

"Ultimately (and ignoring the common reader whom it will defeat) it is an arresting, inordinately vital, impersonal, and remarkable work."
G. as anonymously archetypal as the use of the initial suggests, is the novel or rather anti-novel of the prominent British art critic and Marxist humanist. Read full book review >