Search Results: "Lisa Sanders"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 6, 2009

"Fans of Jerome Groopman and Atul Gawande will appreciate this first collection by another astute observer of the medical profession."
A doctor's insightful reflections on the disconnect between how physicians should practice and how they actually practice. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LISA CAREY
by Megan Labrise

The Stolen Child may be set on a fairy-filled Irish island, but it is “Magical realism of the best kind, utterly devoid of whimsy,” according to Kirkus’ starred review.

“My friends loved that quote, ‘utterly devoid of whimsy,’ ” says author Lisa Carey, who was recently abroad in Turkey, where we reached her by phone. “They said that ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LISA BUNKER
by Megan Labrise

Some of the best advice Lisa Bunker received for writing a book had nothing to do with writing a book.

“The best advice I ever got for naming a child was ‘use all the names you love,’ ” says Bunker, author of Felix Yz. “By the time the next kid comes along, you’ll love different names—don’t hold one for ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

FOR VALENTINE’S WEEK, A HAPPY READING SIGH
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

I’ve been waiting to read Lisa Kleypas’ Devil in Spring since I heard it was coming. Combining her current Ravenel series with the Wallflowers is a stroke of brilliance—and since one of my all-time favorite romance couples is Sebastian and Evie – and this one matches their son Gabriel with the quirky entrepreneur Pandora Ravenel – I simply ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

McNALLY'S DILEMMA by Lawrence Sanders
Released: July 5, 1999

"If Lardo doesn't win any new friends for the franchise, he won't disappoint old hands either."
You'd have to be a sharper-eyed sleuth than foppish Archy McNally to find Vincent Lardo's name in tiny print on the copyright page, but Lardo, not the late Sanders, is the author of Archy's eighth adventure (McNally's Trial, 1995, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMERICAN BLOOD by Ben Sanders
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 17, 2015

"Great dialogue and a hero who won't stay hidden make this a winner for crime fans."
A fast-moving thriller that leaves a trail of blood and grit across the pages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOOD AUTUMN by William Sanders
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 12, 1995

"Roper's third case features nicely depressive Oklahoma scenery, though the Native Americans are a bit too monotonously militant and the ending packs one twist too many."
Rita Ninekiller's Cherokee cousin Chris Badwater, who's been jailed for killing Sizemore County (Oklahoma) Sheriff Rowland Jordan, says he's innocent, even though the murder weapon was his own tomahawk. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TIMOTHY FILES by Lawrence Sanders
Released: June 15, 1987

"Grossly synthetic and thoroughly unappealing: only for Sanders' most undiscriminating fans."
Three limp, unconnected episodes featuring Timothy Cone, "the Wall Street dick"—in an unusually sloppy, thoroughly hackneyed offering from an uneven, crass mass-producer (The Eighth Commandment, The Fourth Deadly Sin, The Passion of Molly T., etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUR REVOLUTION by Bernie Sanders
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 15, 2016

"There's not much what-if here and certainly no indecision. Instead, as if rallying the troops, Sanders writes confidently of a program that's sure to be revisited in 2020."
A dark horse speaks, advancing, after the fact, "an agenda for a new America." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TANGENT FACTOR by Lawrence Sanders
Released: April 17, 1978

"But macho-zombie Tangent and his gross confederate, Sam Leiberman, set the tone for a vulgar and sluggish tourist trap that manages to make deepest West Africa look and sound like a corner in New York's garment district."
Even the most undiscriminating patrons of Sanders' fiction factory will find this sequel to The Tangent Objective (in which mercenary oil-man Peter Tangent helped Napoleonic Obiri Anokye to depose King Prempeh of Asante) shamelessly conveyor-belted and totally resistible. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 27, 1994

"A few pearls among the paranoia, but this flawed paean to literacy is as awkward as its title."
An academic's meandering foray into the realms of the preliterate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOOK OF LOVE AND HATE by Lauren Sanders
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"Though Sanders excels at writing love and its complexities, the thriller portions of her plot are poorly executed."
A torrid tale of sex, lies, and intrigue set against the backdrop of the 2008 Gaza War. Read full book review >