Search Results: "Lloyd S. Wagner"


BOOK REVIEW

FRANKENSTEIN by Lloyd S. Wagner
adapted by Lloyd S. Wagner, illustrated by Naresh Kumar
FICTION
Released: July 27, 2010

"A satisfyingly haunting introduction to a masterwork of English literature, likely to inspire further interest in all things Frankenstein. (Graphic classic. 10 & up)"
Mary Shelley's horror classic is a story meant to be illustrated. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FORT-BUILDING TIME by Megan Wagner Lloyd
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 10, 2017

"Playful reading fun. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A celebration of fort-building play throughout the year. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FINDING WILD by Megan Wagner Lloyd
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 10, 2016

"If the essence of 'wild' remains elusive, perhaps that is partly the point—'wild' can't be contained but is hidden and waiting to be discovered. (Picture book. 4-10)"
The wild world can be found close by, even in the city. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2005

"The combination of first-person narratives provides an unusually well-rounded portrait of schizophrenia. Includes an eight-page black and-white photo insert (not seen)."
Joint memoir by a pair of identical twins, one a writer and award-winning poet with an incurable mental disease and the other a practicing psychiatrist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EMPTY CHAIR by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 26, 2013

"Wagner meditates on our fundamental cravings for connections—both human and divine—and meanings—both personal and cosmic—with wit, compassion and a sharp eye for the lies we tell ourselves."
Casting himself as a story collector, Wagner links two novellas, two narratives separated in time yet bound by a common motif: the empty chair, where loss, grief and death are seated. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEIZURE by Erica Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2007

"Wagner's clean, sturdy prose imparts an inevitability to what is taboo, but some gratuitous mystification prevents a complete surrender to her spell."
The elemental passions of two siblings fuel this first novel, whose contemporary trappings fall away to reveal a fable outside time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2009

"Unflinching, humorous and heartfelt."
Print and public-radio journalist Wagner describes rebuilding after Hurricane Katrina. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Conquest Defiled by Robert Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 4, 2013

"A tale of war, love and religious strife by a promising new novelist."
A young man struggles against family, church and state to find love and a life of his own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FORCE MAJEURE by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 1991

"Richly done boffo winner."
Smashing debut novel in which screenwriter Bud Wiggin, a Thomas Wolfe for failed screenwriters, seems to be a stand-in for author Wagner—screenwriter of the stupid but successful Scenes from the Class Struggle in Beverly Hills and Nightmare on Elm Street 3. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHTSHADE CITY by Hilary Wagner
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"A good story well-told. (Animal fantasy. 10-14)"
Fans of Suzanne Collins's Underland Chronicles and Brian Jacques's Redwall series will enjoy this fast-paced adventure set deep in the Catacombs, where a community of intelligent rats lives in peace and harmony. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RECYCLING WITH ARNIE AND BING by Ann Wagner
FICTION
Released: Aug. 25, 2010

"An endearingly homespun tale that could nevertheless better balance its entertainment and education."
Aimed at elementary schoolers, Wagner's heartwarming salute to recycling features the reincarnation of a friendly bottle and can. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARRIVAL OF THE FITTEST by Andreas Wagner
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 2, 2014

"A book of startling congruencies, insightful flashes and an artful enthusiasm that delivers knowledge from the inorganic page to our organic brains."
Wagner (Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Studies/Univ. of Zurich; The Origins of Evolutionary Innovations, 2011, etc.) lucidly explores the natural principles that accelerate life's ability to innovate and thus evolve.Read full book review >