Search Results: "Lorena Siminovich"


BOOK REVIEW

ALEX AND LULU by Lorena Siminovich
ADVENTURE
Released: March 1, 2009

"Most younger children aren't likely to be so analytical about their friendships—and those who are may be more convinced by the many better articulated celebrations of differences, from Frog and Toad and Tony Johnston's Alien and Possum on. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Clean lines and muted colors lend a simple charm to Siminovich's flat cartoon illustrations—which compensates, at least in part, for her jackhammer style of lesson delivery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONKEY SEE, LOOK AT ME! by Lorena Siminovich
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 5, 2012

"A sweet new title about friends and imaginative play. (Picture book. 1-3)"
This playful, gentle romp for the toddler set depicts a monkey encountering various animals and getting the last laugh. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU ARE MY BABY by Lorena Siminovich
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"In both form and content, these two board books beautifully represent baby and grown-up bonding, whether human or animal. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
This split-level reading experience is a cozy delight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GARDEN by Lorena Siminovich
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 25, 2014

"The clever book-in-a-book construction, appealing collage illustrations and focus on parent-baby pairs will make this one a favorite for shared reading and individual exploration. (Board book. 1-3)"
Two books in one introduce youngsters to garden critters and their babies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LIKE FRUIT by Lorena Siminovich
COLORS
Released: April 1, 2010

"I Like Bugs (ISBN: 978-0-7636-4802-2) counts insects from one to five with similar touch-and-feel collage work. (Board book. 6 mos.-3)"
Siminovich's stylish collages join the plethora of concept books that marry food with color. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN MY DEN by Sara Gillingham
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 12, 2009

"Like its predecessors and its fall companion, In My Tree (ISBN: 978-0-8118-7052-8), a warm, interactive experience that doesn't sacrifice book to gimmick. (Ages 6-18 mos.)"
A little felt brown-bear finger-puppet provides the narration in this companion to In My Pond and In My Nest (both 2009). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN MY POND by Sara Gillingham
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2009

"It's a beguiling gimmick, one that should please both adults and babies again and again. (6-18 mos.)"
Taking "interactive" to the next level, Gillingham has designed a board book that incorporates both die-cuts and a fabric fish finger-puppet to engage baby listeners. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHTLIGHTS by Lorena Alvarez
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 14, 2017

"A winner. (Graphic fantasy. 8-10)"
When a young girl's imagination and creativity are co-opted by a mysterious new friend, she must find a way to regain what is rightfully hers. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SHEDDING LIGHT ON CHILDHOOD MEMORIES
by Julie Danielson

An open-ended story about creativity and overcoming fears—a tale that is, at turns, dark and comforting—Nighlights is the writing debut of Colombian illustrator Lorena Alvarez. It’s the story of a young girl named Sandy, who attends a Catholic school. At night, she catches little lights that float around her room, and she turns them into the stuff of her ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 30, 2011

"Modern Latin recipes ranging from stylish dishes to classic comfort foods in an easy-to-follow format."
Following the opening of two successful Latin-Asian fusion restaurants, lawyer turned chef Garcia takes her rich international culinary background and channels it into her latest venture: a debut cookbook. Read full book review >