Search Results: "Louise Doughty"


BOOK REVIEW

AN ENGLISH MURDER by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2000

"Spellbinding."
The Cowper family—husband Thomas, wife Edith, and teenaged daughter Gemma—live in the tiny English village of Nether Bowston, next door to Alison Akenside, a reporter for the Rutland Record. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRES IN THE DARK by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 9, 2004

"Doughty is a competent narrator, but her characters are dwarfed by the terrible times through which they move."
A Holocaust novel featuring the Gypsies of Central Europe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOUISE by Louise Krug
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2012

"There are fine moments here, but also considerable padding, so that, like so many other books, this is really a magazine article—interesting and readable, but an article all the same."
Memoir of a life turned upside down by illness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré."
Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (Apple Tree Yard, 2014, etc.), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

APPLE TREE YARD by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 14, 2014

"Brooding, emotionally complex and powerful."
Sex with an anonymous stranger blows apart a British scientist's carefully ordered life in London resident Doughty's seventh novel (Whatever You Love, 2010, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHATEVER YOU LOVE by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 27, 2012

"An overly earnest portrait of one mother's suffering."
Dead child, cheating husband, stalking, mental breakdowns, misunderstood immigrants—few melodramatic prompts go unexplored in this tale of domestic woe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY LOUISE by David Collins
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 15, 2002

"Artistically rather bumpy, but Collins's earnestness will touch most readers all the same."
Collins's debut memoir chronicles his wife's losing battle with breast cancer and his subsequent struggle to raise their two-year-old daughter alone. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PLEASE, LOUISE by Toni Morrison
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 4, 2014

"An ode to reading that raises too many concerns. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A young girl sets out on a solitary walk to a surprise destination. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOUISE THE BIG CHEESE by Elise Primavera
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 8, 2009

"Charming from endpapers to endpapers. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Even second bananas sometimes have their day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NECKING WITH LOUISE by Rick Book
Released: Aug. 31, 1999

"Readers will come to know—and like—Eric and admire the way he rises to every occasion. (Short stories. 12-14)"
Work, sports, making out, and breaking up: in seven linked stories set in 1965 a Saskatchewan teenager spins vividly personal takes on universal themes of adolescence, adding no fewer than three brushes with death to make the pleasures and pains of life all the more intense. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOUISE NEVELSON by Laurie Wilson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 18, 2016

"A much-needed, comprehensive biography of a great American artist."
The life and times of abstract expressionism's sculpture queen. Read full book review >