Search Results: "Louise Doughty"


BOOK REVIEW

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré."
Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (Apple Tree Yard, 2014, etc.), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AN ENGLISH MURDER by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2000

"Spellbinding."
The Cowper family—husband Thomas, wife Edith, and teenaged daughter Gemma—live in the tiny English village of Nether Bowston, next door to Alison Akenside, a reporter for the Rutland Record. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRES IN THE DARK by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 9, 2004

"Doughty is a competent narrator, but her characters are dwarfed by the terrible times through which they move."
A Holocaust novel featuring the Gypsies of Central Europe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

APPLE TREE YARD by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 14, 2014

"Brooding, emotionally complex and powerful."
Sex with an anonymous stranger blows apart a British scientist's carefully ordered life in London resident Doughty's seventh novel (Whatever You Love, 2010, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHATEVER YOU LOVE by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 27, 2012

"An overly earnest portrait of one mother's suffering."
Dead child, cheating husband, stalking, mental breakdowns, misunderstood immigrants—few melodramatic prompts go unexplored in this tale of domestic woe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOST AND FOUND by Rebecca Doughty
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2005

"Guileless and appealing for the disorganized youngster in us all. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Always late and in a rush, poor disorganized Lucy loses everything from her shoes and books, to her homework, school snack and jacket. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU ARE TO ME by Rebecca Doughty
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"Minor, but nice. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A pig and a rabbit are best buddies—pig wears stripes, rabbit polka-dots—and the pig, in the simplest and warmest of terms, is trying to explain their friendship in words. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEFORE YOU by Rebecca Doughty
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 27, 2016

"A celebration of friendship that uses metaphors to excellent effect. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Doughty explores the difference one person can make. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: May 12, 2009

"A good introduction to the topic for preschool use or for children learning about comings and goings. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Saying goodbye is the topic here, and this young boy does not like to do it; he'd rather say hello, though goodbyes, he knows, are a fact of life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

31 USES FOR A MOM by Harriet Ziefert
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2003

"Funny and oddly tender, moms and kids alike should enjoy continuing the list. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The team that listed 39 Uses for a Friend (not reviewed) finds fewer uses for mothers, but at least as inventive ones. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOOK OF DRUGS by Mike Doughty
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 1, 2012

"Another mostly enjoyable but unremarkable excess-leads-to-the-palace-of-wisdom drug memoir."
Former Soul Coughing singer Doughty's memoir about sex, drugs, rock 'n' roll and the spiritual benefits of world travel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SMOKE GETS IN YOUR EYES by Caitlin Doughty
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 15, 2014

"A witty, wise and mordantly wise-cracking memoir and examination of the American way of death."
A 20-something's account of her life as a professional mortician. Read full book review >