Search Results: "Louise Ho"


BOOK REVIEW

HO by David Halberstam
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 1971

"Those interested in a more intensive look at Ho's career must go back to Jean Lacouture's Ho Chi Minh (1968)."
"The higher he rose, the simpler and purer Ho seemed." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLICK, CLACK, HO! HO! HO! by Doreen Cronin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"An endearing story that will appeal to a wide age range, including preschoolers, new readers, and older kids who love the Click Clack crowd. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Cronin and Lewin are back with a Christmas story to add to their popular series starring the barnyard buddies from Click, Clack, Moo (2000) and its many successors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOUISE by Louise Krug
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2012

"There are fine moments here, but also considerable padding, so that, like so many other books, this is really a magazine article—interesting and readable, but an article all the same."
Memoir of a life turned upside down by illness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YO HO HO, HALLOWEEN! by Pam Muñoz Ryan
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 28, 2016

"It is oh-so-easy for readers to get caught up in both Tony's infectious excitement and his terrible woes; this should be necessary reading before making costume decisions. (Early reader. 5-8)"
Ryan and Fotheringham once again nail the early-elementary mindset, this time looking at Halloween costumes through Tony Baloney's eyes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"A fresh entry in what is overall an exceedingly enjoyable series; readers will cheer this latest. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Nervous second-grader Alvin Ho digs deep to find the bravery to attend a funeral in this playful and poignant fourth offering in the series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: April 1, 2005

"An abundance of maps and illustrations, cartoons and portraits contributes to a handsome volume excellent for research or browsing. (introduction, note to the reader, index) (Nonfiction. 10+)"
In the midst of the current Lewis and Clark bicentennial, young readers may get the idea that Lewis and Clark were the only early explorers of the American continent. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

Back for a third adventure, anxious Alvin Ho faces such terrifying scenarios as a class visit to the houses of famous deceased authors in his Concord, Mass., hometown and negotiating the particulars of being invited to a girl's birthday party, even as he yearns to be invited to the shindig of another (male) classmate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: July 8, 2008

"A witty glossary and Pham's simple yet expressive line drawings perfectly complement this appealing story about the refreshingly original, endearing Alvin. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Bright, energetic Alvin Ho is about to enter the second grade. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HO-HO HOMICIDE by Corinne Holt Sawyer
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 18, 1995

"Martinez that leaves his helpers, still chirping, to patiently wait for the next interminable coffee klatch."
Yet another tedious go-round with the pair of in-house, would- be sleuths at Camden-sur-Mer, a retirement home in southern California (Murder Has No Calories, 1994, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY LOUISE by David Collins
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 15, 2002

"Artistically rather bumpy, but Collins's earnestness will touch most readers all the same."
Collins's debut memoir chronicles his wife's losing battle with breast cancer and his subsequent struggle to raise their two-year-old daughter alone. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALVIN HO by Lenore Look
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Pack your bags and prepare to fly. (glossary) (Fiction. 6-10)"
Alvin Ho is at it again. Allergic to everything and all things girly, this 7-1/2-year-old worrywart hops a continent to visit relatives in Beijing. Is China ready for Alvin? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DON HO: by Don with Jerry Hopkins Ho
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 27, 2007

"Don Ho lovers rejoice; this colorful coffee table book is everything readers could possibly want from an autobiography of this Hawaiian treasure."
Loa maika'i eluhelu e pili ana no Don Ho. (Possible grammar issues notwithstanding, that's Hawaiian for “A very good book about Don Ho.”) Read full book review >