Search Results: "Lyndon Stacey"


BOOK REVIEW

OUTSIDE CHANCE by Lyndon Stacey
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"Just a few critical degrees hotter than tepid, and the sex is offstage. Safe thrills for the easily shocked."
A horse is hijacked and held for ransom and a reporter is hired to get to the bottom of things, as the race to supplant Dick Francis continues. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEADFALL by Lyndon Stacey
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 1, 2005

"Plot without narrative drive, characters short on spark. Heretofore, Stacey (Blindfold, 2003, etc.) has performed well at the track, but this entry's left at the post."
A poky English addition to the Dick Francis Stakes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOTHING BUT LIES by Lyndon Stacey
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 2014

"Stacey seems ready to merge his dog and horse franchises in a pleasing puzzler. Will Shinju and Yasu join in, as rivals to Midnight Louie and Joe Grey?"
An ex-cop finds himself in the soup when he helps an old friend protect his fiancee. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NO GOING BACK by Lyndon Stacey
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2010

"In spite of its male lead, this series opener from Stacey (Six to One Against, 2006, etc.) reads like Nancy Drew, with probes into what the creepy foreigners could possibly be up to vying for space with personal domestic drama."
An ex-cop and his canine companion find adventure chasing criminals across the wilds of Dartmoor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLINDFOLD by Lyndon Stacey
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 2003

"Quixotic Gideon, endlessly sweet-natured, is easy to like, but halfway through you may yearn for a harder edge."
Horse-whispering with an English accent, in a mild-mannered second thriller from Stacey (Cut Throat, 2003). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SIX TO ONE AGAINST by Lyndon Stacey
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"Nicely paced and plotted and full of substantive stuff for the horsy set. Stacey's best yet."
Animal behaviorist Gideon Blake (Outside Chance, 2005, etc.) finds once more it's the two-legged kind that vexes and befuddles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NO HOLDS BARRED by Lyndon Stacey
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 2012

"Dog lovers will cheer this fast-paced tale that shows the worst and the best of man and beast."
Two ex-cops—one human, one canine—investigate a dog-fighting ring in rural Wiltshire. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CUT THROAT by Lyndon Stacey
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"First-novel shakiness is plainly evident, but a sustaining amiability pervades all, and the horse stuff is wonderful."
Not quite Dick Francis, though this horsy English debut clears its fences neatly. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NO SECOND CHANCES by Lyndon Stacey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2016

"Stacey's latest takes off at a trot rather than a gallop but covers the ground just the same."
Missing husbands and boyfriends are the order of the day for ex-cop Daniel Whelan (Nothing But Lies, 2014, etc.). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

THE SECRET'S OUT
by Leila Roy

While there’s no explicit rule against romantic relationships, our colonial ancestor jinxed them in her Last Word: “Beware ye aromateur; lay your traps of love, but do not yourself get caught.” Fall in love and, like Aunt Bryony, lose your supersniffer. It’s why Mother chose my father from a list of donors she got in the mail like a ...

Read the full post >

BLOG POST

YOU HAVEN’T DIED OF DYSENTERY. YET.
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

BFF Charm: Platinum Edition x 2

Swoonworthy Scale: 7

Talky Talk: Going Out West

Bonus Factors: Diversity, Oregon Trail, Shakespearean Retelling

Relationship Status: Friends Forever

 

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

I adore this cover. It’s so simple, but manages to incorporate so many story references: the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

I FEEL THE EARTH MOVE UNDER MY FEET
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

BFF Charm: Platinum Edition

Swoonworthy Scale: 5

Talky Talk: I Feel The Sky Come Tumbling

Bonus Factors: San Francisco, Diversity, Boarding School

Relationship Status: I Feel My Heart Start Trembling Whenever You’re Around

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

Boy, has Stacey Lee ever lucked out with covers! I ...


Read the full post >