Search Results: "M. Bridget Cook"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"A decent addition to a growing body of work about polygamy, the book speaks to the ways isolation, fear and secrecy can shelter insidious abuses until someone has the courage to step forward as a witness."
With the assistance of Cook (Shattered Silence: The Untold Story of a Serial Killer's Daughter, 2009, etc.), Musser describes her transition from obedient daughter and wife in the polygamous Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints to a key witness in court cases against church leaders, including the "Prophet" Warren Jeffs. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JOHN NEWMAN
by Rhett Morgan

In 1992, John Newman prepared to celebrate finishing his Ph.D., securing a book deal with Warner Books for the release of his dissertation, JFK and Vietnam, and having worked directly with Oliver Stone as consultant on the film JFK. But a brief call from the National Security Agency put all of that in jeopardy. Newman was warned that his ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

DOUBLE EXPOSURE by Bridget Birdsall
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"This necessary story is warmly told but occasionally feels incomplete. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Alyx, an intersex teen, leaves California for Milwaukee to live as a girl for the first time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 23, 2016

"'Rooted in science' and offering teen readers tools for individual action, this is a necessary purchase for most libraries. (bibliography, photo credits, index) (Nonfiction. 12-18)"
A comprehensive introduction to the scientific history and current understandings about climate change. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOLLY BELL AND THE WISHING WELL by Bridget Geraghty
Released: Dec. 29, 2016

"A heroine struggles to find her way back from despair and anger to joy and acceptance in this highly relatable tale for tweens."
A young girl, wanting things back the way they used to be before her mother died, pins her hopes on a wishing well in this debut middle-grade novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 12, 2007

"The stories of the four needy women are thin, with Kinsella's own story taking up too much time, but the book does shed light on why certain vulnerable women are attracted to, fall in love with and even marry men behind bars."
Although the subtitle suggests that the subject is women who link up with convicts, the larger story is the author's own relationship with a convicted murderer. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

CHOOSING YOUR OWN PATH
by Leila Roy

Everyone wants something different from me. It’s like one second, I should be a better dude. I should stop being such a girly douche, and I should just man up. Then, it’s the opposite: I’m too much of a guy, and it’s not right. I should be a girl, because that’s what I’m supposed to be.

The thing is, I’m ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

TIZ AND OTT'S BIG DRAW by Bridget Marzo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 3, 2015

"A fine way to encourage artistic license for the very youngest of makers, many of whom can probably read this one themselves. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A pair of friends makes art and much, much more. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ALL IS NOT LOST
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Teach Me to Forget by Erica M. Chapman

Cover Story: In the Clouds
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 8
Talky Talk: Heavy, Yet Hopeful
Anti-Bonus Factor: Suicide
Relationship Status: Here For You

Trigger Warning: Teach Me to Forget deals with attempted suicide, suicidal thoughts, cutting, severe depression, how suicide affects the people who are ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

TRY SOMETHING NEW: DEBUT SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY NOVELS
by John DeNardo

Are you feeling stuck in a literary rut? Dr. John has the cure!

OK, I confess. I am not an actual doctor, but I do have a tempting selection of notable debut novels that just hit the bookstore shelves. If you're looking for something new, read one of these and call me in the morning...

 

Like a Fly ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

POISON by Bridget Zinn
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 12, 2013

"Still, this is good silly fun—a refreshing antidote to a genre overflowing with grit and gloom. (Fantasy. 11-14)"
Don't let the title or cover fool you! No grimdark teen fantasy or angst-y heroines here; just a frothy confection of a fairy tale featuring poisoners, princesses, perfumers and pigs, none of whom are exactly what they appear (except maybe the pigs). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PROVENCE CURE FOR THE BROKENHEARTED by Bridget Asher
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 22, 2011

"Unabashedly romantic and unafraid of melancholy, Asher's book is a real charmer about a Provencal house that casts spells over the lovelorn."
In an affecting story about loss, a young widow goes to Provence to renovate her family's home—and hopefully fix her heart. Read full book review >