Search Results: "Margaret Jull Costa"


BOOK REVIEW

ELEVEN MINUTES by Paulo Coelho
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2004

"Down-to-earth dialogue and detail about classy whoring: one of Coelho's strongest."
The Brazilian Coelho, whose inspirational fables have sold about 50 million copies in 150 countries in 57 languages, at times persuades reviewers with his talent but often is seen as gucky and spiritually challenged. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAN OF FEELING by Javier Marías
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 30, 2003

"It's a resonant enigma, deftly explored in an elusive text that's a revealing introduction to and gloss on Marías's richer, even more puzzling subsequent fiction."
Marías (Dark Back of Time, 2001, etc.) exhaustively analyzes a "reasonably famous" operatic tenor's inchoate infatuation with a married woman he scarcely knows. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON THE EDGE by Rafael Chirbes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 19, 2016

"A moving, densely detailed portrait of people without hope."
One of Spain's leading novelists, who died in August 2015, tackles the malaise that has swept his country in the wake of the Great Recession. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CAVE by José Saramago
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2002

"We'll say it again: Saramago is the finest living novelist, bar none."
Far from resting on his laurels, Portugal's 1998 Nobel laureate, now 80, brings us yet another ruefully comic and disturbing allegorical tale—a worthy companion to its superlative immediate predecessors Blindness (1998) and All the Names (2000). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ALCHEMIST by Paulo Coelho
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 1993

"Americans should flock to it like gulls."
Coelho is a Brazilian writer with four books to his credit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLINDNESS by José Saramago
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"Another masterpiece."
The embattled relationships among the people of a city mysteriously struck by an epidemic of blindness form the core of this superb novel by the internationally acclaimed Saramago, the Portugese author of, most recently, The History of the Siege of Lisbon (1997). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ILLUSTRIOUS HOUSE OF RAMIRES by Eça de Queirós
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2017

"A touch long but with never a wasted word. Fans of Vargas Llosa and Saramago will find a kindred spirit in these pages."
Late, reflective work by de Queirós (1845-1900), widely considered Portugal's greatest novelist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL THE NAMES by José Saramago
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"Mischievous, saturnine, and commandingly eloquent fiction."
The resonant themes of identity and autonomy are examined with keen precision and rich humor in the Portuguese Nobel laureate's most recent (1997) fiction, a novel that compares very interestingly with Saramago's fascinating The History of the Siege of Lisbon (1997). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIDA by Paulo Coelho
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2008

"This patchy mélange of vaguely Gnostic sounding aphorisms and not much action—climaxing with a BYOB witch-initiation party—will mostly appeal to Coelho's diehard devotees."
New Age savant Coelho (The Witch of Portobello, 2007, etc.) whitewashes witchcraft. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DOUBLE by José Saramago
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"Nevertheless, it's clearly the work of a great writer, whose entire oeuvre eloquently dramatizes the paradox (memorably stated by Maria de Paz) that 'Chaos is only order waiting to be deciphered.'"
The theme of shared identity, treated by such masters as Poe, Stevenson, and Dostoevsky, animates the 1998 Nobel winner's latest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VERONIKAK DECIDES TO DIE by Paulo Coelho
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 7, 2000

"Imagine peering into the very heart of the mystical rose in Dante's Paradise and finding the neon injunction: 'TODAY IS THE FIRST DAY OF THE REST OF YOUR LIFE.'"
A touching, if overexplicit, fable about learning to live in the face of death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FIFTH MOUNTAIN by Paulo Coelho
Released: March 11, 1998

"Surprisingly persuasive storytelling."
A huge improvement over Brazilian author Coelho's last, the gucky religious romance By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept (1996). Read full book review >