Search Results: "Marion Woodman"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1998

"Only groupies will think this is anything but intellectual and psychic quicksand. (Author tour)"
A drum-beater for masculinity and an icon of feminist psychoanalysis here deconstruct a Russian fairy tale, reducing an enchanting story to psycho-mush. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 1, 1991

The trial of Washington, D.C., mayor Marion Barry, with its titillating mixture of sex, lies, and videotape, not only attracted worldwide attention, but gave rise to more serious questions—which are partially addressed here by Voice of America's Agronsky. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARION HATLEY by Beth Castrodale
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 20, 2017

"A reflective, compassionate, and gracefully written tale about a designer that effectively uses its historical setting."
In this debut novel set in 1931, a corsetiere fleeing scandal starts over in a small town, where she learns more about her past and herself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 15, 1992

"The women's narratives speak eloquently for themselves."
A notable contribution to the understanding of women's development, as leading Jungian analyst Woodman comments on and provides a theoretical framework for personal accounts by three of her clients. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEARCHING FOR OLIVER K. WOODMAN by Darcy Pattison
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2005

"As with its predecessor, understatement and ambiguity are everything; Oliver's fans will happily embrace both. (Picture book. 5-8)"
That intrepid hitchhiking doll is back—and gone, as his repeat trek from South Carolina to California goes terribly awry, and Tameka enlists the help of Paige Hall, an investigative reporter, to track him down. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE JOURNEY OF OLIVER K. WOODMAN by Darcy Pattison
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2003

"All geography lessons should be this much fun. (Picture book. 5-8)"
An epistolary picture book whimsically teaches geography, encouraging readers to follow the peregrinations of a life-sized wooden figure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARION ZIMMER BRADLEY’S ANCESTORS OF AVALON by Diana L. Paxson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 21, 2004

"For die-hard fans."
Another prequel to Bradley's bestselling feminist take on Arthurian legend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEA-FARI DEEP by Nancy Woodman
Released: April 1, 1999

"The layout combines text, pastels, watercolors, full-color photographs, and a border; if such a busy, cluttered format occasionally obscures the text for younger readers, it may attract MTV-age readers accustomed to the frantic pace of web pages. (maps, glossary) (Picture book. 10-14)"
The Jason Project is familiar to many Internet surfers, who have watched and even interacted with scientists off the coast of Baja California, in Mexico, as they dive to the ocean floor to explore deep sea vents, and the creatures which form near them, including the astounding bacteria that use chemical energy to make sugar. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANA BIBI'S EXCELLENT FORTUNES by Betsy Woodman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 17, 2012

"Good-humored, soft-centered, nostalgic armchair tourism."
Memories of the Raj are never far away in an affectionately old-fashioned tale of community life set in the fictional Indian hill town of Hamara Nagar in 1960. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 2001

"For fans of Patrick O'Brian or C.S. Forester who crave true stories of high adventure in Nelson's navy—although many of those fans would be better served by numerous, more scholarly histories of the epoch that are readily available."
A historical study of the fighting officers and sailors who served in Great Britain's powerful navy during the golden age of Admiral Horatio Nelson. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HISTORY OF THE SHIP by Richard Woodman
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 1998

Coracle, curragh, and carrack, tramp and dreadnought, opium clipper and Scotch boilerships all, and all lovingly detailed in this shrewd encyclopedic history of seafaring (complete with a dash of danger and romance) from Woodman (author of the Captain Drinkwater novels: A Private Revenge, 1990, etc.), who spent his working life under the red ensign. Read full book review >