Search Results: "Mark Jones"


BOOK REVIEW

J.D.'s Scratch Match by Mark Gabriele
Released: Sept. 2, 2012

"Sweet, warm, friendly, unique and utterly readable."
Some problems aren't what you think they are, as this quietly humorous picture book illustrates. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEIR OF PROMISE by Llewellyn Mark Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2014

"An intriguing portrait of one American's life north of the border during the Vietnam era."
Jones, a veteran Canadian playwright, provides an engaging twist on the nurture-versus-nature conundrum in this novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SNOW PARTY by Harriet Ziefert
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"Varied perspectives offer long-shots and close-ups, deep purples and blues in the background allowing the coal-eyed, carrot-nosed folk to fairly glow at their gala. (Picture book. 4-8)"
"[W]hen the first snow of the year falls on the first day of winter, [the snowpeople] have a snow party!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MERMAID DANCE by Marjorie Rose Hakala
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2009

"This bewitching combination of ethereal paintings and fanciful text invites readers to contemplate the secrets of the sea long after the book is closed. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Hakala's enchanting tale explores the fantastical world of mermaids. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MARK SUNDEEN
by Megan Labrise

Writing about the simple life proved anything but for immersive journalist Mark Sundeen.

His original manuscript—an unadorned account of three couples who, in varying ways, have opted out of everyday American consumerism—was accepted and revised when he withdrew it from publisher Riverhead Books.

“I had a close friend read it, call me, and say, I stopped reading at page 175 ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

OPAL SUMMERFIELD AND THE BATTLE OF FALLMOON GAP by Mark Caldwell Jones
Released: Oct. 16, 2013

"A dazzling debut with magical places, creatures and gemstones, plus a compelling heroine young readers will love."
The first installment in the Opal Summerfield series has her discovering her magical origins and a parallel world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: April 1, 2011

"Recommended, especially for middle grades studying the Civil War. (Picture book/biography. 5-10)"
As far as we know, Sarah Emma Edmonds began dressing as a boy early on, in an attempt to please her abusive father, who hated girls. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WILD ROBERT by Diana Wynne Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"Minor Jones to be sure, but still entirely intelligent and engaging. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Wild Robert provides the fizz in this outing from master fantasist Jones, the first US edition of a 1989 novella. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ORANGE, TRIANGLE, FOX by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"What this and its companion lack in clarity of concepts, they make up for in character. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
An exploration of colors, shapes and animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

READY FOR WEATHER by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2016

"A plainspoken and effective introduction to the spectrum of weather patterns, with color identification as a bonus. (Board book. 1-2)"
Little readers learn the value of dressing properly for various weather conditions. Read full book review >