Search Results: "Mark Sperring"


BOOK REVIEW

MAX AND THE WON'T GO TO BED SHOW by Mark Sperring
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"A fun-filled revamp of the bedtime genre and a humorous choice for the not-quite-sleepy set. (Picture book. 3-6)"
"Please put your hands together for…MAX THE MAGNIFICENT!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MABEL AND ME  by Mark Sperring
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 7, 2015

"A pretty package but lacking in substance and storyline. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A small mouse with delusions of grandeur strolls down a vaguely Parisian street with his best friend, Mabel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SUNFLOWER SWORD by Mark Sperring
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2011

"Or at least into a gift for a new friend. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A little knight, creatively costumed with household items such as a colander helmet, rubber gloves and cowboy boots, wants to be "big like the other knights and fight like the other knights and have a sword like the other knights." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SHAPE OF MY HEART by Mark Sperring
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2013

"While this may inspire children to create their own heart full of shapes they love, the title fails to deliver anything that has not been done before. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Singsong rhyming text introduces the myriad shapes encountered during the course of a child's day. But one shape—any guesses?—holds special significance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUR HAND IN MY HAND by Mark Sperring
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 29, 2015

"Great either for a bedtime story or to celebrate a newborn; no one can refute the book's final words: 'with your hand in my hand, / we'll never feel lost.' (Picture book. 3-5)"
A caregiver adult mouse and its child mouse enjoy love and support along the path of life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'LL CATCH YOU IF YOU FALL by Mark Sperring
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 15, 2016

"This sentimental story of a return voyage carries an important message—let's all take care of one another. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A little boy on a perilous adventure at sea needs someone to see him safely home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FAIRYTALE CAKE by Mark Sperring
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2005

"With guests like these, how could it be otherwise? (Picture book. 3-5)"
The text may run to just a few words per page, but the pictures in this heavily populated outing invite lingering as dozens of European nursery rhyme and folktale characters gather to prepare a huge cake, and then wheel it down the road to the house of a lucky birthday boy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW MANY SLEEPS 'TIL MY BIRTHDAY? by Mark Sperring
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2016

"Cute if one-dimensional. (Picture book. 3-6)"
An anxious cub drives his father a little crazy with the anticipation of his big day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MERMAID DREAMS by Mark Sperring
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: July 1, 2006

"A perfect bedtime 'tail.' (Picture book. 3-5)"
Like many kids, Meriam doesn't like to get ready for bed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIND-A-SAURUS by Mark Sperring
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2003

"Sure to be a hit with young children, but fun for adults as well. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Marty's mom has told him all about dinosaurs and now he wants to find one to be his pal in Sperring's highly imaginative picture book debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WANDA’S FIRST DAY by Mark Sperring
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2004

"The story is short and simple, appropriate for younger listeners who are intrigued with the current craze for pointed hats, magic spells, and special broomsticks in an out-of-this-world setting. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Wanda is a little witch girl setting off for her first day at school—by broomstick. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MARK SUNDEEN
by Megan Labrise

Writing about the simple life proved anything but for immersive journalist Mark Sundeen.

His original manuscript—an unadorned account of three couples who, in varying ways, have opted out of everyday American consumerism—was accepted and revised when he withdrew it from publisher Riverhead Books.

“I had a close friend read it, call me, and say, I stopped reading at page 175 ...


Read the full post >