Search Results: "Martin E. Marty"


BOOK REVIEW

MARTIN LUTHER by Martin Marty
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 2, 2004

"'Sin boldly,' Luther proclaimed. The only flaw in this bold interpretation, and one by design, is that it is too short. A fine brief on a world-changing figure."
A noted Lutheran historian turns to the founder of his faith, delivering a thoughtful portrait of a complex, controversial figure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 1996

"His volume will be an important link to retrieving the elusive America of McCarthy, the Cold War, and the Niebuhrs. (illustrations, not seen)"
An excellent history by one of the most distinguished American religious scholars of our time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 1991

"Comprehensive and readable, but lacking depth: scholars will find surprisingly little analysis, and no new insights."
The latest addition—succeeding The Irony of It All (1986)— to the projected four-volume survey of 20th-century American religion by the well-known Univ. of Chicago historian (Religion and the Republic, 1987; Pilgrims in Their Own Land, 1984, etc.). ``Will America remain Protestant and Anglo-Saxon?'' According to Marty, this was the central question of the period between the world wars, posed by old-stock Americans and immigrant newcomers alike. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHRISTIAN WORLD by Martin E. Marty
NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 15, 2008

"Sturdy church history, vivified by a fresh, though not always seamless approach."
Christian history within the context of continents as well as content. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 1997

"Unfortunately, recent experience suggests that humans may be more prickly than porcupines."
Marty (Religion/Univ. of Chicago; The Glory and the Power, 1992, etc.) struggles to define a moderate position within an emotionally charged debate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2000

"Not all readers will agree with Marty's insightful reflections on the relationship between politics and religion, but his essay is a useful starting point for anyone interested in the role of religion in America's public life."
In a thoughtful antidote to the arguments that usually dominate discussions of politics and religion, Marty (The One and Many, 1997, etc.) here invites us instead to enter into a conversation about the relationship between the two. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

E by Matt Beaumont
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"Your career may depend on it."
Subject: Fab debut of former London adman, making a bugger-all brilliant update on the epistolary novel by having it largely in e-mail thrashing about on the office network and focusing on London's Miller Shanks ad agency striving to land the Coke account. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAVING MARTY by Paul Griffin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"Smart, honest, and heart-achingly real. (Fiction. 10-14)"
A failing peach farm and a mountain of bills force 12-year-old Lorenzo Ventura's mother to consider selling his best friend, Marty—a pig who thinks he is a dog. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 1992

"Marxist-Leninism."
Something rare: a fair-minded assessment of religious fundamentalism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

"Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona. (Fiction. 7-10)"
When the promised land of third grade does not pan as promised, Marty McGuire finds herself playing a completely new role. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 25, 2012

"While it's not a road map to riches, this comprehensive guide can help lead you to greater financial understanding and maybe even achievement, no matter your income level."
A financial psychologist encourages consumers to take an introspective approach to achieving financial independence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STE-E-E-E-EAMBOAT A-COMIN’! by Jill Esbaum
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 8, 2005

"The Story of Captain Blanche Leathers (2000), illus by Holly Meade, though its content is closer to William Anderson's comparatively restrained River Boy (2003), illus by Dan Andreasen. (afterword, map) (Picture book. 7-9)"
Inspired by a passage from Mark Twain's Life on the Mississippi, Esbaum captures the bustle and commotion attending a steam packet's arrival in a small river town: "Rubberneckers, / pounding boots, / whiskered geezers, big galoots. / Wheels a-clatter, / choking cloud, / yapping dog, excited crowd." Read full book review >